This is the "Home" page of the "History (Eastern European/Balkans)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History (Eastern European/Balkans)  

Last Updated: Mar 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/history--eastern_europe Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask William Monroe

JavaScript is disabled. Chat requires JavaScript.
 

Introduction

This guide aims to provide assistance in finding and using resources concerning the modern history of Eastern Europe, including the Balkan peninsula.  Some of these resources may be of more general interest as well, and may be repeated from other guides, such as that for History (General & Modern).  Depending on the focus of your research, it may also be helpful to look at that guide as well as those for Medieval Studies, Middle East Studies, Slavic Languages, Gender Studies, History of Art & Architecture, International Relations, or others that you might find on this list

 

Quick links for Eastern European History

AccessUN    
1944-present; provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications.

ACLS Humanities Ebook Project    
A collection of full text scholarly works in history, archaeology, area studies and related fields, published between 1880 and the present. Some titles are available in XML and some can be Print-On-Demand for a fee.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Data Services    
The EIU DataServices portfolio comprises the following global business databases: EIU Country Data, a comprehensive database of economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 320 economic series for 150 countries, as well as 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forecasting out five years; EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts, a powerful database of economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major countries, stretching back to 1990 and forward five years; EIU City Data, a global database of product prices and business costs providing over 330 prices levels on more than 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide from 1990 to the present, and Combination of Country Data and Market Indicators, which is a combination of EIU Country Data and EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts.

Historical Abstracts   
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.

JSTOR    
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. 

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. 
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

PAIS International    
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.

Project Muse    
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links toJSTOR.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text    
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.

Seventeen Moments in Soviet History 
"Seventeen Moments in Soviet History contains a rich archive of texts, images, maps and audio and video materials from the Soviet era (1917-1991). The materials are arranged by year and by subject, are fully searchable, and are translated into English. Students, educators, and scholars will find fascinating materials about Soviet propaganda, politics, economics, society, crime, literature, art, dissidents and hundreds of other topics"

Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive 
Between 1994 and 1999, the Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation -- now the USC Shoah Foundation Institute -- interviewed nearly 52,000 survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors, homosexual survivors, Jehovah's Witness survivors, liberators and liberation witnesses, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of Eugenics policies, and war crimes trials participants. The complete archive of these testimonies, which were videotaped in 56 countries and in 32 languages, is now available to Brown students, faculty, and staff for ON-CAMPUS USE ONLY.

Times (London) Digital Archive    
1795-1985; researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

World Development Indicators    
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
William S. Monroe
wmonroe@libraryh3lp.com/BULChat
 

Databases Key

full text icon = Some full text
licensed icon = Licensed for Brown
audio icon = Audio Available
video icon = Video Available


Look for this button in search results to find full text -- find it


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip