Ask a Librarian
A Navigation to Internet Resources on China Studies: 中国研究网络资源导航
Hi, as your subject libratian for East Asian Studies, I am very glad to help you find information and reserch tools relavent to your research. Please contact me by email, chat online or phone call. Thanks and have a good day.
The General Internet
- Google Tips and Tricks: Google's guide to using their search engine effectively. Includes boolean searching, wild cards, and more.
- Wikipedia Responsibly: Student Wikipedia Use Policy from the University of California Santa Barbara. Describes Wikipedia's strengths and weaknesses. Discusses version history for citations.
- Primary vs. Secondary Sources: A helpful guide from the University of California Santa Cruz, University Library.
- Peer Review: An excellent overview of the process of peer review, its benefits, and its shortcomings. Written by the Linux Information Project.
The Library Web
- WorldCat Explained: About page for WorldCat, the premier federated library catalog.
- Brown's NEW Library Search Tool: About page for the new unified search tool. Learn how to query JOSIAH and subscription databases at the same time.
- Google Scholar: Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar results now include links to Brown University Library resources. These links will appear automatically if you search from an on-campus computer or use the link above; otherwise, off-campus you must go to "Scholar Preferences" and search for "Brown". For further information see Google Scholar FAQ.
Selected Databases for East Asian Studies
Academic Search Premier
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
1971-present; this online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 610,000 records of materials in all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Brown Theses and Dissertations
The Brown University Theses and Dissertations database includes over 15,000 records for dissertations written and submitted in fulfillment of Brown University degree requirements from 1893 to 2000. Included are undergraduate honors theses, master's theses, and doctoral dissertations. Records include the author's name, thesis title, degree awarded, year, granting department, and when available, thesis advisor. [This resource is publicly available.]
China Academic Journals (CAJ) 中国期刊全文数据库
1994-present; CAJ is one of several major databases of China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI). It includes full text, full image articles (many in English) for subject areas in the humanities and social sciences such as literature, history, philosophy, economics, politics, law, and education.More information on CAJ
China Data Online 中国数据在线
1952-present; collection of statistical materials including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, Monthly Industrial Data, Yearly Industrial Data, Statistics with Map & Charts, and Statistical Yearbooks.
China: Culture and Society
c.1750-1929; the core of China: Culture and Society is the pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia housed in the Carl A. Kroch Library of Cornell University. Mostly in English, and amounting to around 1,200 items in 220 bound volumes, these rare pamphlets form part of one of the deepest and most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world. The pamphlets have all been digitised in colour and are full text searchable. Many are illustrated and feature lavish cover art.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
1793-1980; China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980 is based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London, supplemented by additional sources from Cambridge University Library, the Church Missionary Society Archive, the Council for World Missions Library, Duke University, the National Archives at Kew, the Alexander Turnbull Library at the National Library of New Zealand and Yale Divinity Library. In addition includes a range of rare printed materials including missionary periodicals, atlases and books which help to contextualize the other sources.
Chosŏn ilbo (Seoul, Korea) 朝鲜日報
|from 1920 to present in 조선일보 아카이브 (Chosun Ilbo Archive)|
|from 05/18/1998 to present in Access World News Research Collection|
Dissertations of China 中国学位论文全文数据库
1986-present; this database holds fulltext or abstracts and other descriptive information of Masters, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations from key Chinese research institutions. Covers all disciplines.
Duxiu Knowledge Search Database 读秀中文学术搜索
1980-present; comprehensive, interdisciplinary Chinese knowledge system containing 2.15 million full text Chinese e-books, 3.1 million bibliographical records, journal articles, multi-media products, reports, archives, etc., altogether with 900+ million pages of resources all searchable and downloadable (with restriction for the copyright protection). Updates daily.
ebrary Academic Complete subscription collection offers access for over 80,000 titles from leading academic and professional publishers. Concentrations include business and economics, computers and technology, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
For help in getting started, see ebrary Video Tutorial.
Google Book Search
Includes digitized collections from participating libraries. The "About the book" section provides useful bibliographic and other information. When a book is out of copyright, it can be viewed or downloaded it in its entirety; other books are viewable in preview or small snippets only. [This resource is publicly available.]
Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar results now include links to Brown University Library resources. These links will appear automatically if you search from an on-campus computer or use the link above; otherwise, off-campus you must go to "Scholar Preferences" and search for "Brown". For further information see Google Scholar FAQ.
Gujin Tushu Jicheng 古今圖書集成
The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China (Gujin Tushu Jicheng) consists of 64 books. It was kept in the royal court and not available to common scholars and common people. In 1934, the China Bookstore published its photostatic edition. The Collection includes all the most important classics of ancient China through the Qing Dynasty. Subjects found in the database include: astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economy, art, education, agriculture, medicine and others. It is the most comprehensive, most important classified books collection of China and the biggest compendium of its type in the world.
JapanKnowledge: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Databases ジャパンナレッジ
Current; JapanKnowledge is one of the largest collections of reference sources about Japan. The database provides access to a wide range of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources, including: Encyclopedia Nipponica; Nihon kokugo daijiten, an unabridged dictionary of the Japanese language; Kokushi daijiten, an encyclopedia of Japanese history; Nihon jinmei daijiten, a biographical dictionary of Japan; and full-text books in the Toyo bunko series as well as Shinpen Nihon koten bungaku zenshu, a complete collection of Japanese classical literature.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or email@example.com.
Kikuzō II Bijuaru for Libraries: Asahi Shinbun Kiji Dētabēsu 聞蔵II ビジュアル
1879-present; Kikuzō II bijuaru for libraries: Asahi Shinbun kiji dētabēsu provides access to over 13 million Japanese newspaper articles published by Asahi Shinbu. Full text searching is available post-1985. The database also includes: articles from two weekly magazines, AERA and Shūkan Asahi; Chiezo, a contemporary dictionary; the Who's Who Database; and the Historical Photo Archive, which contains approximately 10 thousand photographic records mostly taken in Asia during the World War II period.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
1890-1982; contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. See Readers Guide Abstracts for 1982 to present.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
1975-present; Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers over 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.
Siku Quanshu 四庫全書
Containing 3492 individual works and divided into four categories, the Siku Quanshu represents a massive heritage of Chinese thought and culture. Please note: Siku Quanshu only works with Internet Explorer and Windows XP. Off-campus access is through the VPN client only. Get installation instructions and download the client software.
Social Sciences Citation Index
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.
SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present; SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. This product contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Includes extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
Published on Sunday as: South China Sunday post, Jan.-Oct. 1950; South China Sunday post-herald, Nov. 1950-July 2, 1972; Sunday post-herald, July 9, 1972-Dec. 1, 1974; South China morning post, Dec. 8, 1974-June 2, 1985; South China Sunday morning post, June 9, 1985-
Books, journals, sound recordings, videos and manuscripts collected and catalogued by your library and libraries around the world. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.
Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shūsei Dētabēsu 雑誌記事索引集成データベース
1868-present; indexes over 13 million academic and general journal articles published in Japanese, including minor periodicals published in local prefectures and cities as well as those published in the neighboring countries during the colonial times. Covers humanities, social sciences and natural sciences. It combines content from periodicals indexed by the National Diet Library in Japan.
This database DOES NOT work with EZProxy. Please download the SSL-VPN client to your computer from software.brown.edu to access this resource from off-campus.
How to request articles not available online at Brown.