Pivot DoS and Don'ts
This is the "Home" page of the "Grant Finding: Library Services and Support" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Grant Finding: Library Services and Support  

This guide provides information about various products and services supported by BUL for grant finding. Special focus is given to Pivot/CoS.
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/grants Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Dr. Ian Straughn
Contact Info
Joukowsky Family Middle East Studies Librarian
Brown University, Box A, Providence, RI 02912
Office: Rock 103
401-863-3394
Send Email

Social Sciences Data Librarian

Profile Image
Bruce Boucek
Contact Info
Bruce provides consultations and class sessions on social science research, data acquisition, analysis, visualization, and mapping.
Rockefeller Library, Room 103
10 Prospect St.,
Providence, RI 02912
(401) 863-7978
Send Email

Health Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Erika Sevetson
Contact Info
Health Sciences Librarian
Champlin Memorial Library
Alpert Medical School
222 Richmond St., rm 155

or mail:
Box G-M155, Brown University
Providence, RI 02912
(401) 863-5150
Send Email

Biomedical and Life Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Laura Pavlech
Contact Info
Sciences Library, Room 1408
Phone: (401) 863-2135
Send Email
 
 

Individual Grant Resources

 

Upcoming Training Sessions 

in the Rock Library Hecker Training Center (1st floor):

Walkins Welcome space permitting

9/23 @ noon  register

10/15 @ noon register

11/7 @ noon register

_______________________________________________________________________

LICENSED FUNDING DATABASES

 

Pivot  full text icon  
Current; Pivot (formerly COS Funding Opportunities) is a frequently updated database of funding opportunity announcements from across the disciplines (including the humanities and social sciences). It contains information on awards, fellowships, and grants from federal/non-federal, corporate/private foundation, and international funding sources. Includes COS Funding Alert, a weekly e-mail notification with a customized list of funding opportunities based on specified criteria provided by the individual COS member.

 

 Foundation Directory Online   full text icon   

Please note: Grant seekers looking for funding from private foundations and corporations are strongly encouraged to contact  Brown's
Office of Corporate & Foundation Relations
for support and coordination.


Current; Foundation Directory Online Professional provides subscribers with access to timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of over 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 4,000 sponsoring companies; a database of over 3 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF. Unique funder portfolios organize additional funder-specific content and include: grantmaker-related news, job opportunities, and Request For Proposals (RFPs); grantmaker-sponsored publications; and officer and trustee affiliations. Aside from the four major databases, Foundation Directory Online Professional also includes a keyword search option that allows subscribers to search across all four of those databases at once, while at the same time searching across additional Foundation Center databases: news, jobs, RFPs, grantmaker-sponsored research reports, and nonprofit literature.

Based on this database the CFR office has compiled this fantastic resource:  CFR Grant Watch

_______________________________________________________________________

FREE DATABASES/TOOLS

 

Grants.gov
A searchable database of funding opportunities available through all 26 federal grant-making agencies. Records include program scope, eligibility requirements, deadlines, and program director contact information.

Research Development and Grant Writing News
This monthly electronic newsletter offers strategies on how to compete successfully for research funding from federal agencies and foundations. Each issue highlights agency research news and trends, web resources, and new funding opportunities. An institutional subscription allows unlimited distribution to the Brown community, but please note that this material is copyrighted and may not be reposted on an open website.

Duke University Funding Opportunities Database
Well maintained site of grant, award, and scholarship notices. Funding opportunities may be searched by funding agency, discipline, targeted opportunity and funding designation.

Rhode Island Science & Technology Advisory Council Funding Opportunties
The Rhode Island Science and Technology Advisory Council (STAC) is committed to stimulating economic development and job creation by maximizing the economic impact of research, technology and innovation. In an effort to continue this commitment, STAC has created a funding opportunities tool where state leadership, researchers, entrepreneurs, and all citizens of Rhode Island interested in research and development can find competitive federal funding opportunities in one central location.

Society for Research Administrators -- Grants Web

Catalog of funding agencies provided as part of an pnline destination for the field of research administration.Targeted to research administrators internationally in all settings to include universities, hospitals, nonprofits, the government and for profit companies.

ScanGrants

Free listing with several  hundred grants and other funding opportunities for health related research organized by categories.

 

Grant resources at Brown

Brown has numerous internal grants and fellowships for students, faculty and researchers offered by various centers, offices, and campus organizations. Below are a some sites that gather some of these but it is also advisable to check with various campus units about specific opportunities that might come available.

UFunds

UFunds coordinates applications for funding from the Dean of the College, the President's Office, the Office of International Affairs, and Campus Life.

OVPR: Internal Funding Opportunities @ Brown

OVPR: External Funding Opportunities

Find information on restricted submission opportunities. Also find links for subscribing to Research Development and Grant Writing News.

Office of Sponsored Projects

The Office of Sponsored Projects (OSP) supports Brown University faculty in the acquisition, performance, and administration of projects and programs funded from sources outside the University. Contact OSP with questions about pre-award and post-award processes and procedures.


Office of Corporate & Foundation Relations

Part of the Advancement team, The Office of Corporate and Foundation Relations facilitates engagement with and investment from corporations and foundations to advance Brown University’s teaching, learning and research priorities.Their office will work with you and your partners to forge mutually beneficial collaborations that harness the energy and endeavors of the University’s outstanding faculty and students in all fields and disciplines.

The have put together this fantastic resource:  CFR Grant Watch

 

Library Services for Grant Seekers

The Brown University Library offers a number of services for researchers engaged in seeking internal and external grants.

Please contact any of the members of the Research and Outreach Services team profiled on this page for more information or to schedule an appointment.

Services we offer:

 

Chat with me

 

Databases of Gov awards

NIH Reporter

Database that allows you to search grants awarded by the NIH based on investegator names, institutions, toipics and various other search criteria.


NSF grant award search database

Search what grants and projects have been funded in past cycles by various criteria.


NEH funded Projects query

Search past awards to projects from the NEH.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip