HIST1512 First Nations: The Peoples and Cultures of Native North America to 1800
This course tells the history of North America through the eyes of the original inhabitants from pre-contact times up through 1800, and explores the big and small ways in which these First Peoples shaped their own destiny, even under colonialism.
Provides access to fully searchable historical newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C., 1690-1900
1690-1900; this expanding digital collection of early American newspapers is the most extensive resource of its kind. Currently featuring more than 2,000 titles from all 50 states and Washington, D.C., Early American Newspapers provides an unparalleled record of daily life in hundreds of diverse American communities. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, election returns, matrimony and death notices, maps, cartoons, illustrations and more, these historical newspapers offer researchers essential local and national perspectives on American history, culture and daily life across three centuries. Advanced capabilities allow users to search or browse by date or era, by language, by place of publication or individual title. Users can easily view, magnify, print and save digital images of whole issues, pages and individual articles.
The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news from the British Library
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of 17th-18th century newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Titles are from London, the British Isles, and the colonies. It is the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included.
Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations.
Provides access to historically significant periodicals from the Americas published between 1740 and 1940
1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Provides access to books, pamphlets, broadsides, and periodicals published in America from 1639-1800
Ongoing; based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, this resource serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Provides access to page images of printed work from the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Subjects include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Provides access to books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, and more in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, Eighteenth Century Collections Online includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. It contains works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. ECCO is primarily in English, but does include other languages.
A primary source collection that includes the diaries and letters of 1,325 women, colonial era
Colonial-1950; ongoing. When complete, the collection will include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Includes materials from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings.
400 years of New England Native American history, community, culture, sovereignty, land, gender, race, identity, migration, law, and politics in original manuscript documents from a variety of archives. Will be migrating to the new Native Northeast Portal, which already contains documents from Massachusetts archives.
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies, 1574-1757
Sixteenth through eighteenth centuries; Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
Offers resources dating from the earliest contact between Native Americans and European settlers up to the civil rights movement of the 20th century
The wide range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Librarys extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
A cooperative project of Tribal Communities, Tribal Colleges and other Native individuals and entities in collaboration with the University of Kansas, the University of Nebraska at Omaha and libraries, founded for the purpose of recovering and preserving "rare Indigenous newspapers, photographs, and archival materials from all across Native North America."