LibGuides: HIST1992 Honors Workshop for Prospective Thesis Writers: RARE BOOK COLLECTIONS

SPECIALIZED RESEARCH LIBRARIES

John Carter Brown Library
COVERS: the Americas, both North and South, through the Age of Revolutions (ending ca. 1825).
Folger Shakespeare Library
COVERS: Shakespeare and the early modern age in the West.
James Ford Bell Library (University of Minnesota)
COVERS: Pre-modern trade and cross-cultural interaction, circa 400-1800 C.E.
American Antiquarian Society
North American history, literature and culture as documented by " the largest and most accessible collection of printed materials from first contact through 1876 in what is now the United States, the West Indies and parts of Canada."

PUBLIC LIBRARY COLLECTIONS

Rhode Island Collection (Providence Public Library)
Special Collections (Providence Public Library)
Key holdings include a massive number of whaling logbooks, Civil War imprints, children's games, Irish literature and printing history

HISTORICAL MEMBERSHIP LIBRARIES

In the 18th century, lending libraries were largely small private organizations, organized by individuals and operating by subscription. The Athenaeum movement brought together groups of committed individuals for the purpose of creating a permanent foundation for education and discovery through membership. New England is still home to a number of membership libraries whose individual histories date back to the 18th century.

HIST1992 Honors Workshop for Prospective Thesis Writers

Subject Guide

SPECIALIZED RESEARCH LIBRARIES

PUBLIC LIBRARY COLLECTIONS

HISTORICAL MEMBERSHIP LIBRARIES

MUSEUM RESEARCH COLLECTIONS