LibGuides: Court Records and Legal History: Cases, Codes, & Legal Scholarship

Cases: Federal and State

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical U.S. legislative, congressional, international treatise, court documents and law reviews. Includes access to Fastcase, 1754-present.
1754-present; HeinOnlineAcademic contains more than 100 subject areas including criminal justice, political science, history, women's studies, gender studies, theology, pre-law, and many more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives

FindLaw
"Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. This includes resources pertaining to constitutions, statutes, cases and more. Run a search for case summaries or select a jurisdiction to browse applicable laws."
Google Scholar Case Law
A convenient way to search across all federal and state courts.
Justia U.S. Supreme Court Center
"Justia provides a free collection of all U.S. Supreme Court decisions from 1791 to the present."
Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law School)
Provides links to U.S. federal and state laws, codes, cases, and other legal information.
Oyez
Covers Supreme Court cases, including audio of arguments.
Supreme Court Database (Washington University Law)
"contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2018 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices."

Codes: Federal and State

Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition)
"The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis."
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations
"The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office."

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical U.S. legislative, congressional, international treatise, court documents and law reviews. Includes access to Fastcase, 1754-present.
1754-present; HeinOnlineAcademic contains more than 100 subject areas including criminal justice, political science, history, women's studies, gender studies, theology, pre-law, and many more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives

Justia U.S. Law
Provides access to U.S. Law, Case Law, Codes, Statutes & Regulations. Includes federal and state laws.
Open States
Open States aggregates legislative information from all 50 states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico. This information is then standardized, cleaned, and published to the public.... enables individuals to find out who represents them, look up information on an important bill that’s been in the news, discover how their representatives are voting, or just stay current with what is happening in their capital." API and bulk downloads available.
State of Rhode Island General Assembly
Includes legislation and news.

Law Journals and Legal Scholarship

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical U.S. legislative, congressional, international treatise, court documents and law reviews. Includes access to Fastcase, 1754-present.
1754-present; HeinOnlineAcademic contains more than 100 subject areas including criminal justice, political science, history, women's studies, gender studies, theology, pre-law, and many more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

Justia: Research the Law
Includes guides to different types of legal issues and more.

The RI State Law Library

RI State Law Library
"The library serves the reference and research needs of the bench and the bar. As a publicly funded institution committed to access to justice, the library is open to all."
Located on 250 Benefit Street in Providence.

International Law

EUR-Lex
An open portal to EU legislation and law. Find additional information at EU Law
Global Legal Information Network (GLIN)
"a network of Member States and designated International Organizations committed to enhancing the legislative processes of individual countries, and to making their laws and legal decisions accessible to their citizens, legislators, government and private sector officials and others who relate to the country through international trade, and to participants in the global community generally."
Justia: Latin America
Legal resources for Latin America. Scroll down the page to the appropriate section.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives

United Nations Treaty Collection
"The Secretary-General of the United Nations is the depositary of more than 560 multilateral treaties which cover a broad range of subject matters such as human rights, disarmament and protection of the environment."
World Legal Information Institute
"a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility"