Database: ProQuest TDM (Text Data Mining)

ProQuest TDM Studio is a platform that allows you to text and data mine (in other words, gather and analyze large amounts of text) content from news, scholarly and other kinds of publications that Brown subscribes to via ProQuest.

You may find ProQuest TDM studio useful if you'd like to:

• Identify trends in a publication over time
• Use data visualizations to represent texts
• Gather a large "corpus" or collection of texts for text analysis, machine learning, etc.
• Use a web-based interface to run Python and R code using these texts
• Query, transform, and export text data to your computer

A screenshot of the ProQuest TDM Studio frontpage.

You do not need to use the Brown VPN, be on campus, or access a special link to create a TDM account - simply sign up for a new account using your @brown.edu email address!

1. Go to https://tdmstudio.proquest.com

2. Click “Create Account” button

3. Use your Brown email address to create an account and password

ProQuest TDM provides access to any ProQuest database we subscribe to as a library. This covers:

* Newspapers

* Dissertations and theses

* Specific magazine collections (e.g. Vogue archives)

* Historical + archival sources

And more!

This tool will let you access and analyze metadata and full text content for the vast majority of our holdings. However, due to copyright/source text licensing agreements, you are unable to download a complete, un-altered copy of all full-text holdings. You are able to download aggregated and analyzed data that cannot be reassembled into full-texts, such as word counts, topic models, rearranged texts, etc. Please reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns about this policy.