LibGuides: Public Health: United States

U.S. National Statistics Sites

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance Systems
Tracks health issues such as asthma, diabetes, health care access, alcohol use, hypertension, obesity, cancer screening, nutrition and physical activity, tobacco use, and more.
CDC Wonder
Access to over twenty data sets, including MMWR, Cancer Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results, Fatal Accident Reporting, and National Occupational Mortality Surveillance.
DataFinder (Department of Health and Human Services)
Directory of health and human services data and statistics resources supported by the Department of Health and Human Services, other federal agencies, states, and local governments.
Healthy People DATA2010
"Contains the most recent monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2010...National data are available for all of the measurable objectives. State data are available for a subset of the measurable objectives."
MMWR
Presents data on reportable diseases such as AIDS, hepatitis, and along with articles on specific epidemiological topics.
National Center for Health Statistics
The Nation's principal health statistics agency provides data and reports on a wide range of health topics. Select Faststats for quick access to summary data.
VitalStats
Collection of vital statistics products including tables, data files, and reports that allow users to access and examine recent vital statistics and population data interactively.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
Tracks health issues such as injuries and violence, tobacco use, alcohol & drugs, sexual behaviors, dietary behaviors, physical activity, general health, asthma, and more.

U.S. State and County Statistics Sites

America's Health Rankings
Longest running annual assessment of the nation`s health on a state-by-state basis.
County Health Rankings
Provides access to the 50 state reports, ranking each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county’s health.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Quick Health Data Online (Office on Women's Health)
Provides state and county-level data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and US territories and possessions by gender, race and ethnicity from a variety of national and state sources.
Small Area Health Insurance Estimates (SAHIE)
Model-based estimates of health insurance coverage for counties and states from the U.S. Census Bureau.
State Cancer Profiles
"The objective of the State Cancer Profiles Web site is to provide a system to characterize the cancer burden in a standardized manner in order to motivate action, integrate surveillance into cancer control planning, characterize areas and demographic groups, and expose health disparities. The focus is on cancer sites for which there are evidence based control interventions. Interactive graphics and maps provide visual support for deciding where to focus cancer control efforts."
State Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data from all 50 states on more than 500 health topics.

U.S. Statistics for Specific Topics / Groups

American Hospital Directory
"Provides online data for over 6,000 hospitals...from both public and private sources including Medicare claims data (MedPAR and OPPS), hospital cost reports, and other files obtained from the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)."
Cancer Facts & Figures
"The American Cancer Society tracks cancer occurrence, including the number of deaths, cases, and how long people survive after diagnosis. ACS also tracks data regarding behaviors that influence the risk of developing cancer and the use of screening tests."
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC)
Includes national and state-based data on over 100 indicators from the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN).
Disability (U.S. Census Bureau)
View reports, briefs and data from Census sources on disability.
Fertility (U.S. Census Bureau)
View reports, briefs and data from Census sources on fertility.
HCUPNet (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project)
HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system that provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
Health Insurance (U.S. Census Bureau)
View reports, briefs and data from Census sources on health insurance.
Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention: Data Trends & Maps
"The CDC Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention's Data Trends & Maps online tool allows you to search for and view health indicators related to Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention. You can search on the basis of a specific location or a health indicator."
Heart Disease and Stroke Statistics
"Each year, the American Heart Association, in conjunction with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Institutes of Health and other government agencies, brings together the most up-to-date statistics on heart disease, stroke and other vascular diseases."
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
OPTN / SRTR Annual Report: Transplant Data
Over 350 tables of comprehensive transplant data, showing both recent activity and 10-year trends
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Primary source of national data on the prevalence, treatment, and consequences of substance abuse.
Vaccination Coverage in the U.S
Estimates of the number of people who have received particular vaccines measured at national, state, and local levels.

Online Publications of U.S. Statistics

Health, United States
Annual compendium of health status, health care resource use, and vital statistics from HHS agencies. Online starts with first in 1975 to most recent. Library has print for 1975-2007: WA 900 AA1 N277h.
Healthy People 2010
Publications that set out the goals and objectives of Healthy People 2010, document the statistical basis for the initiative, and provide guidance for its implementation.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Health statistics in 2012 edition cover Nutrition, Utilization, Diseases, Expenditures, Insurance, and Risk Factors.
more...less...
"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations."
Vital and Health Statistics Series
Each series presents data analyses for a data collection system or a family of related systems.
Vital Statistics of the United States
Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce. Online 1937 to 1993. Part 1, Natality online 1994-2003. Library print for 1937-1993: W2 .AA1 .V8362.

Print Publications of U.S. Statistics

AHA Hospital Statistics
Comprehensive reference source for analysis and comparison of hospital trends.
Call#: WX 16 H828s
AHA Guide
AHA Guide® profiles more than 6,500 hospitals featuring data on the number of beds and admissions, services offered, personnel data and key contacts. This book also lists thousands of health organizations, agencies and other providers.
Call#: WX 22 AA1 A5123