LibGuides: Health Sciences Literature Reviews: Screening tools & Data extraction

Screening Tools

The screening process is done in two stages:

Title/Abstract: Include or exclude articles for your review by reading the titles and abstracts of each result and determining if they fit your eligibility criteria.
Full Text: Results that have made it through the first stage are now screened by reading the full text of the article and determining if they fit your eligibility criteria. Document your reasons for exclusion at this stage.

The following tools can be used to screen through the search results of your reviews and select articles for inclusion in the review based on your eligibility criteria.

Covidence
Covidence is a screening and data extraction tool for comprehensive literature reviews that is available to the Brown community. It automatically de-duplicates imported results, and users can create PRISMA flow diagrams easily, along with templates for data extraction and quality assessment.
Abstrackr
From the Center for Evidence Synthesis in Health (CeSH) here at Brown University. Free, open-source tool for collaborative screening of abstracts.
EndNote
EndNote is citation management software that is available to the Brown community. With EndNote, you can: import references directly from multiple databases; organize and manage references; and format bibliographies and manuscripts.
Rayyan
Software for screening through titles and abstracts for reviews. Free version includes unlimited reviews and AI-powered features.

Data extraction tools

Covidence
Covidence is a screening and data extraction tool for comprehensive literature reviews that is available to the Brown community. It automatically de-duplicates imported results, and users can create PRISMA flow diagrams easily, along with templates for data extraction and quality assessment.
Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)
From AHRQ, SRDR is a powerful and easy-to-use tool for extraction and management of data for systematic review or meta-analysis. It is also an open and searchable archive of systematic reviews and their data.
MS Excel (PIECES Workbook)
An advanced approach to using MS Excel for data extraction, developed by Margaret J. Foster.