LibGuides: Biology: Databases

Biomedical

In the event that PubMed is inaccessible, please see our list of alternative options.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
1940's-present, PubMed is the public access version of MEDLINE, the premier biomedical database. Includes links to full-text and related resources including molecular databases.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biomedical research, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research, 1947-present.

General STEM

These databases index citations to references, which allows for forward-searching and citation chaining. You can also search by topic and use the available filter and sorting options to limit your results to highly cited articles.

Web Of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scientific, social science, and humanities research; along with forward and backward citation searching capabilities, 1900-present
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a cross-disciplinary abstract and citation database. It allows for forward and back citation searching. 1788-present.

Lens.org
A search and data visualization tool for exploring patent information. Lens.org search capabilities offer advanced boolean functions, structured search, biological search, classification search, and good filtering and sorting options.

Ecology, Evolution & Organismal Biology

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Topic coverage includes botany, pharmacology, evolutionary ecology, toxicology, microbiology, & biochemistry. Searchable via the Web of Science platform.
1969-present; international coverage of research in the life sciences.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access and full text search to small society journals in biology, ecology and environmental science.
BioOne is the product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of the titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Global Plants This link opens in a new window
The Global Plants database is a growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials from community contributors around the world.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
BHL operates as a worldwide consortium of natural history, botanical, research, and national libraries working together to digitize the natural history literature held in their collections and make it freely available for open access as part of a global "biodiversity community."
Birds of the World
Birds of the World is an ornithological research platform that brings together deep, scholarly content from several works of ornithology with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds.

Chemistry

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Research tool for organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry experimental substance property data and single and multistep reaction data, 1779-present
1779-present; web-based discovery tool for organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry experimental substance property data (including physical, spectral, pharmacological, toxicological, and ecological) and single and multistep reaction data. Combines the content of the former CrossFire databases including Beilstein and Gmelin. Reaction and substance data are experimentally validated (not calculated) from selected journals and patent literature. Reaxys integrates reaction and substance data with structure search, synthesis planning, analysis tools, and output formats.

Each user must REGISTER to use Reaxys. Users must have a Brown IP (Ethernet or VPN) and submit a BROWN.EDU EMAIL ADDRESS when registering.
SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive discovery tool of chemical information. SciFinder-N is the new interface for SciFinder.
Use of this resource is limited to current faculty, administrative staff, and registered students and their use is limited to academic research, teaching, and publication purposes only. Any commercial use is strictly prohibited.