The Brasiliana Collection is comprised of various discrete collections on Brazil (literatura de cordel, catadora/cartonera books, archives, materials on espiritismo, pamphlets from the Igreja Positivista do Brasil, historical magazines, etc.) as well as individual items.
A collection of about 260 pamphlets published by the Positivist Church of Brazil. The pamphlets date from the late-19th to mid- 20th century and, with few exceptions, are written in Portuguese language by Miguel Lemos and Raimundo Teixeira Mendes.
This collection documents the career of Thomas E. Skidmore who was a professor in the Latin American Studies department at the University of Wisconsin (1967-1987) and then at Brown University (1988-1999). His area of focus was Brazil and he was the pre-eminent expert in the United States on the topic of its history and politics. The collection relates primarily to his professional life as a student, professor and scholar. Materials related to his personal life are interspersed throughout with the highest concentration in Series 5. Correspondence.
BRASA, founded in 1992, is an international, interdisciplinary group of scholars who support and promote Brazilian studies in all fields, especially in the humanities and social sciences. BRASA is dedicated to the promotion of Brazilian studies around the world in general, and in the United States in particular. This collection contains the records of the organization and include Executive Committee Meeting materials and documentation on the planning and content of the biennial international conferences held by BRASA since 1994.
The archive holds the personal papers and selected volumes from the private library of the late Portuguese writer. The collection includes drafts and typescripts of his writings, personal and professional correspondence, notebooks, postcards, diplomas, calendars, diaries, photographs, legal and medical documents, drawings, newspaper clippings, book reviews, and monographs. Miguéis' correspondence includes letters to Câmara Reys, Raul Proença, Jaime Cortesão, Mário de Castro, António Sérgio, Manuel Mendes, Mário Dionísio, Manuel Rodrigues Lapa, David Mourão-Ferreira, Jacinto Baptista, Mário Neves, José Gomes Ferreira, José Cardoso Pires, Natália Correira, Raul Hestnes Ferreira, Jorge de Sena, John Austin Kerr, Aquilino Ribeiro, and José Saramago among others. For a biographical sketch of Miguéis click here.
The archive holds an extensive collection of materials created or collected by Hubert Jennings in the course of his research on the Portuguese poet Fernando Pessoa focused particularly on the time Pessoa lived in Durban, South Africa. Jennings published a book called Os Dois Exílios: Fernando Pessoa na Africa do Sul (1984) and an English version called Fernando Pessoa in Durban (1986). The collection includes drafts of manuscripts, translations and transcriptions of Pessoa's poetry, correspondence with members of the Pessoa family and with other scholars. The collection also includes Jennings own poetry, stories and essays in draft and published form and a 5 volume memoir about his life that he called the “Cracked Record.”
This collection focuses, primarily, on twentieth century Portuguese-speaking Africa, chiefly Angola and Mozambique, while Guinea-Bissau and São Tomé e Príncipe are also present. Some items address Portugal’s colonies in Asia as well. The materials (approx. 125 items) document Portuguese colonial rule and expansion in Africa in the late 19th century and the first half of the 20th century, African national liberation movements and independence, as well as post-independence social and economic conditions. The collection is comprised of, in large part, pamphlets and other primary resources as well as small-press published works, monographic series, and journals. Transnational in scope, the collection includes materials from Portugal, Canada, Great Britain, and other parts of Africa.
This collection is comprised of Portuguese language manuscript materials documenting the settlement and colonization of Angola (1690-1790 and 1828-1941), and includes correspondence between the Bank of Lisbon and the Azores from 1930-1931 and documents from the Cape Verde Islands in the first half of the 19th century. Topics covered by the materials in the collection include governance and administration, population, public education, finances, history, agriculture, navigation and commerce, military affairs and related topics.