LibGuides: Policy and the Carceral State: Primary sources: News

Ethnic, political, & community presses

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 7,000 local, regional, national, and international news sources, current
Access World News Research Collection is a full text news resource consisting over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on todays issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues. New home of the Providence Journal.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines
1969-present; international and interdisciplinary, Alternative Press Index provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 200 years of indigenous print journalism from the United States and Canada. Formerly known as "American Indian Newspapers."
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States during the 19th and 20th centuries, 1808-1980.
1808-1980; created in cooperation with the University of Houston, this digital resource represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English
Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 300 fully searchable Latin American newspapers from more than 20 countries, 1805 -1922.
1805-1922; provides 280 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. The Library owns series 1 and series 2 of this resource.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recent local, national, and regional news content from Latin America, current.
Current; Latin American Newsstream includes eight Brazilian newspapers and seven Mexican newspapers. Additionally, newspapers from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and other Latin American countries give added coverage and perspective. To round out the coverage, Latin American Newsstream also contains regional magazines and wire services including Noticias Financieras financial newswire focusing on finance, technology, market analysis, and regional economic trends.
US Hispanic Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English.
Dates vary; US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinin (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago). All of the content in ProQuest US Hispanic Newsstream is available on the ProQuest platform and is cross-searchable with other ProQuest databases.

Major US and international press

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 7,000 local, regional, national, and international news sources, current
Access World News Research Collection is a full text news resource consisting over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on todays issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues. New home of the Providence Journal.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital newspaper archive offering more than 60 historical publications dating back to the 19th century.
These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Use the list below to search each newspaper individually.
Brown University Library subscribes to:
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search recent and archival U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites, 1980-present
1980-present; US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full text format.