LibGuides: iProv: Grey literature, NGOs & Think Tanks

CapitalWords.org

For every day Congress is in session, Capitol Words visualizes the most frequently used words in the Congressional Record, giving you an at-a-glance view of which issues lawmakers address on a daily, weekly, monthly and yearly basis.

Grey Literature

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles and reports for U.S. public policy research, 1900-present.
1900-present; Policy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research in that it grants users access to timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centres, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy. The majority of Policy File Index records link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Locate working papers, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos relevant for research in international politics and related fields, 1991-present.
1991-present; designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, 1914-present.
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
A "private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. NBER-affiliated researchers study a wide range of topics and they employ many different methods in their work. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies."

Think Tanks on the Web

CGS Policy Archive-- collects and archives public policy research publications from US think tanks.

NIRA World Directory of Think Tanks-- indexed by country with descriptions, contact information, and links to organizations' website

WWW Virtual Library: Research Institutes-- list of think tank-related links and resources maintained by Wayne Selcher at Elizabethtown College

Public Policy Institutes-- a Yahoo directory of important international think tanks with links to organizations' websites.