LibGuides: MAT / UEP guide to research: English

Professional organizations and standards in ELA

Rhode Island Common Core Standards for ELA/ Literacy from the RI Department of Education

English Language Arts Standards from the Common Core State Standards Initiative

Top teaching journals in ELA

A list of NCTE journals can be found here.

Find direct links to specific journals below (note: you may have to log in with your Brown credentials).

English Education
NCTE journal. Includes research, teacher training, and administration in ELA education. Online from 1969- present
English Journal
NCTE journal. Includes research on and practical applications in the teaching of writing, reading, literature, and language. Online from 1912- present
English Leadership Quarterly
NCTE Journal, from Conference on English Leadership (CEL). Focus on leadership in K-12 ELA education. Online from Oct. 1998.
Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy
International Literacy Association (ILA/ IRA) journal. Scholarly, peer-reviewed journal focusing on teaching secondary and adult literacy; includes book reviews of young adult literature. From 1989 online.
Reading Research Quarterly
International Literacy Association (ILA/ IRA) journal. Includes new research, essays, and syntheses on literacy practice, teaching, and learning for all ages. From 1965 online.
Research in the Teaching of English
NCTE journal. A scholarly, peer-reviewed journal for research and theory in language arts education, literacy education, and literature education. 1967- present online

Finding additional resources for teaching ELA

African Writers Series
Provides access to key texts of modern African literature, including more than 230 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama, and non-fictional prose

For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series has published the key texts of modern African literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing. Release Seven of this online edition includes over 230 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.
Caribbean Literature
Caribbean Literature is a body of work that is essential for the study of the Caribbean and the Black Diaspora.
Education Database
Indexes and abstracts over 900 journals in Education in addition to those journal articles and documents found in ERIC.
ERIC
Provides public access to education literature citations and resources, 1966-present.

1966-present; ERIC is a digital library of education-related sources of interest to educators, researchers, and the general public, and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. The collection has been expanded to include full text of specific articles and other electronic resources such as audio and video materials.
Gale LIterature Criticism
Literary analysis, from scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Includes criticism on works in children's literature, classic and medieval literature, literature from the 1400s to 1800s, drama, nineteenth- and twentieth-century literature, short stories, and poetry.
Literature Criticism Online
A compilation of literary commentary, current.

Current; this resource is from the well-known Contemporary Literary Criticism and offers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
MLA International Bibliography
Access to the bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations from the Modern Language Association, 1926-present.

1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
ProQuest One Literature
A comprehensive collection of primary texts, contemporary and historical criticism, reference sources, full text journals, and audio and video by and about authors from around the world. Search the ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) index of bibliographic citations for literary criticism here. Formerly Literature Online (LION).
Teacher Reference Center
Discover articles on best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, instructional media, language arts, science and mathematics, school administration, and more, current.

Current; Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, instructional media, language arts, science & mathematics, school administration, and more.