Skip to Main Content

Pembroke Center Archives

This guide provides information on the Pembroke Center Archives and the women's history collections curated and maintained therein.

History of the Christine Dunlap Farnham Archives

Founded in 1986, the Christine Dunlap Farnham Archive documents the history of women, transgender, and gender non-binary people at Brown University and in the state of Rhode Island. A research collection housed at Brown University's John Hay Library, the Farnham Archive is open to the public for research. 

Named in honor of the Pembroke College alumna, Christine Dunlap Farnham ’48, a leader in volunteer support for the Pembroke Center, the archive began with the Pembroke Center Oral History Project and has grown to include a wide variety of archival materials. Notable collections are the records of Pembroke College, files on student organizations and activities, campus publications, student scrapbooks, alumnae papers, photographs, audiovisual material, and memorabilia. Collections relating to Rhode Islanders include records from the Rhode Island Society for the Collegiate Education of Women, Women for a Non-Nuclear Future, COYOTE-RI, and The Womxn Project.

Researchers can access collections of the Christine Dunlap Farnham Archive by visiting the John Hay Library, using the published Research Guide to the Christine Dunlap Farnham Archive, researching the collection online through the Christine Dunlap Farnham LibGuide, and/or browsing the Brown University Library catalog using the search term, “Women.”

For more information about donating or accessing material, please contact pembroke_archives@brown.edu.

Archives Committee

The Christine Dunlap Farnham Archives Committee is comprised of scholars and alumnae who also serve as members of the Pembroke Center Advisory Council. The committee members provide curatorial guidance and subject expertise for oral histories and special collections. The group meets bi-annually where membership is on-going. 

2020-2021

  • Nancy L. Buc ‘65, ‘94 LL.D (hon.)
  • Emily Coe Sullivan '99, Ed.M.
  • Johanna Fernández '93, Associate Professor of history at Baruch College, City University of New York
  • Jean Howard '70, LHD'16 (hon.), George Delacorte Professor in the Humanities, Columbia University
  • Bernicestine McLeod '68, Owner/President of McLeod Associates Inc. and Vice President of Aisha & Co LLC
  • Shauna Stark '76, Philanthropist 
  • Judith Surkis '92, Professor of History, Rutgers University
  • Kimberly Wachtler Steinman '13, Esq.

Featured Collections

The following collections represent some of the outstanding materials available within the Christine Dunlap Farnham Archive; a special collection repository documenting the history of women, transgender, and non-binary people at Brown University and in Rhode Island. 

 

Kate Bornstein papers

This collection consists of the papers of Kate Bornstein, performer, playwright, author, and transgender activist who graduated from Brown University as Albert Bornstein in 1969. The collection documents Bornstein's personal and professional life and trans activism, and includes biographical information, correspondence, diaries, conference material, draft writings, writings by other authors, subject files, print material, ephemera, photographs, and electronic records. View finding aid here.

 

Dawn Clements papers

This collection consists of the personal and professional papers of Dawn Clements (1958-2018), a 1986 graduate of Brown University and a contemporary artist who was known for her work with Sumi ink and ballpoint pen on small to large-scale paper panels. The collection includes personal correspondence, diaries, photos, research notes, paintings and sketches. View finding aid here.

 

COYOTE Rhode Island records

Call Off Your Old Tired Ethics (COYOTE) is a national grassroots social justice network founded by Margo St. James in San Francisco, California, in 1973. It is dedicated to the fundamental human rights of sex workers and their communities. COYOTE focuses on ending violence and stigma through education, community building, and advocacy. COYOTE looks to improve the lives of sex workers, end the criminalization of sex work, and erase the stigma associated with sex work. COYOTE Rhode Island was founded by Bella Robinson in 2009 and is the only state chapter of this nationwide organization.

This collection contains the organizational records of COYOTE Rhode Island, a group of sex workers, former sex workers, trafficking victims, and allies, who advocate for policies that promote the health and safety of people involved in the sex industry. Materials include administrative records; special project files such as the COYOTE-RI Impact Survey and Sex Workers Outreach Project pen pal letters; subject files regarding other advocacy organizations; public records of court cases, arrests, and legislation relating to prostitution; and informational zines and booklets. View finding aid here.

 

Helen F. Cserr papers

This collection contains the personal and professional papers of Helen F. Cserr, Brown University Professor of Physiology from 1970 to 1993 and scholar of the anatomy and mechanism of the human brain. During her time at Brown, Cserr conducted extensive research on brain anatomy, AIDS research, and the blood brain barrier. A notable woman in science, Cserr also made history in 1975 when she joined Lamphere v. Brown University - a class action sex discrimination suit - when she was unjustly denied tenure. In a landmark settlement, Cserr and fellow plaintiffs prevailed and Cserr was awarded retroactive tenure in 1978. 

Cserr developed a brain tumor in approximately 1992, from which she first fell ill while traveling to Melbourne, Australia for a brain science fellowship. Cserr died of the tumor at age 57 in August 1994. A symposium on lymphatic drainage of the brain was held in England in her honor. Brown established a Helen FitzGerald Cserr fellowship position as well as the Helen FitzGerald Cserr Memorial Fund. View finding aid here. See also the Pembroke Center oral history donated by Cserr's daughter on her behalf.  

 

Ann duCille papers

Ann duCille is Professor of English, Emerita at Wesleyan University and Inaugural Distinguished Professor in Residence for the Black Feminist Theory Project at the Pembroke Center, Brown University. DuCille's scholarship pertains to African-American literary and cultural studies and investigates popular culture and brand marketing, specifically the ways by which they influence perceptions of and discriminatory practices against races, genders, and identities. Papers include personal and professional correspondence, manuscripts, dissertation proposals, awards and honors, and conference material. View finding aid here.

 

Leslie C. Doonan activist files

This collection consists of the activist files of Lesley C. Doonan, social justice feminist and founding member of the Women's Liberation Union of Rhode Island. The collection documents Doonan's participation in various feminist organizations including the National Conference on Women, the Rhode Island Abortion Counseling Service and the Women's Liberation Union of Rhode Island. Materials include correspondence, conference material, clippings, legal files, and print materials. View finding aid here.

 

Anne Fausto-Sterling papers

Dr. Anne Fausto-Sterling is a leading expert in feminist and scientific inquiry. Until her retirement in 2014, Fausto-Sterling held the Nancy Duke Lewis Chair as Professor Emerita of Biology and Gender Studies in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology and Biochemistry at Brown University. Fausto-Sterling's revolutionary research applies gender theory and cultural difference to biology and gender development, challenging categories of difference. The collection documents Fausto-Sterling's academic career, research, and writings, and includes correspondence, teaching materials, lab notebooks and slides, subject files, and print materials. View finding aid here. See also Fausto-Sterling's Pembroke Center oral history regarding the Louise Lamphere v. Brown University sex discrimination case. 

 

Jodi L. Glass papers

The Jodi L. Glass papers provide rich documentation of the inner workings of feminist organizations and movements in Rhode Island and beyond. Included in the collection are the correspondence, essays, news clippings, legislation, agendas, and minutes of a number of groups and movements, including the Rhode Island Feminist Chorus, Feminist Resources Unlimited, and the anti-pornography movement. View finding aid here.

 

Malana Krongelb zine collection

The Malana Krongelb zine collection consists of administrative files and zines that focus on social justice and marginalized identities. Areas of strength include zines by and about people of color, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and other queer peoples, disabled people, interpersonal violence, sex and relationships, sex work, the prison industrial complex, self-care, feminism, and punk. View finding aid here. 

 

Louise Lamphere papers

Louise Lamphere is a renowned anthropologist and feminist scholar, working at the University of New Mexico. With a B.A. from Stanford University, an M.A. and Ph.D. from Harvard University, Lamphere has been active in the field of American Anthropology, specifically Navajo cultures, and women's roles in the workplace and family. In 1968, Brown University hired Lamphere into the Anthropology department, where she served as the only woman and was famously denied tenure in 1974. Following that decision, Lamphere brought a class action suit against Brown University and subsequently won an out-of-court settlement that served as a model for future suits by others. "[T]he University settled the case before trial, entering in September 1977 into an historic consent decree designed 'to achieve on behalf of women full representativeness with respect to faculty employment at Brown.'"

Lamphere spent most of her career between Brown University and the University of New Mexico, with several visiting fellowships at various universities and institutions, such as the University of California Berkeley, Princeton University, and the Russell Sage Foundation. During her career, Lamphere won several awards and has written over 120 publications, including books, articles, and article reviews. Today, she is a distinguished professor of Anthropology, Emeritus in the Department of Anthropology at the University of New Mexico.

This collection includes biographical information, professional files, correspondence, drafts of publications, teaching and research material, and files related to academic conferences. View finding aid here. See also the online exhibit, "The Lamphere Case: The Sex Discrimination Lawsuit that Changed Brown," and Lamphere's Pembroke Center oral history

 

Sarah Doyle Center records

The Sarah Doyle Center for Women and Gender, formerly known as the Sarah Doyle Women's Center, was established at Brown University in 1974. The student group, Women of Brown United, proposed a women's center in response to the merger of Brown with Pembroke College, the women's college at Brown. They named the Center after Sarah Doyle who was the first woman to receive an honorary degree from Brown in 1894. Doyle also led the campaign to admit women to Brown, a campaign that raised the money to build Pembroke Hall, the first permanent building of the Brown Women's College.

Today, the mission of the Sarah Doyle Center for Women and Gender is to engage the campus community through a feminist praxis of activism and academics. The center provides programs, resources, and meeting space for any member of the campus community interested in examining issues around gender, especially as it intersects with other markers of identity.

This collection contains the records of the Sarah Doyle Center for Women and Gender at Brown University. Materials include staff logs; administrative and event files for student groups including the Greenlight Network, Third World Women's Affairs, the Women's Escort Service, and the Women's Political Task Force; subject files regarding abortion, LGBTQ sexual health, and South African Divestiture; student papers; and print material such as handbooks, journals, and newsletters. View finding aid here.

 

Martha and Waitstill Sharpe collection

This collection contains originals and photocopies of reports, publications, interviews, obituaries, and photographs pertaining to the careers of Martha (class of 1926) and Waitstill Sharp. Documents record the Sharps’ early social work in Meadville, PA, and their humanitarian and rescue work in World War II Prague, Czechoslovakia; Marseille and Pau, France; and Lisbon, Portugal. Materials also document Martha Sharp’s postwar campaign for Congress, activities in Israel, continuing work for the Unitarian Church in Czechoslovakia, family and personal life, and work with the Cogan Foundation and other charitable agencies. View more information here. View digitized items here.