LibGuides: PHP 1920, Social Determinants of Health: Newspapers

Contemporary Newspapers

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

Historical Periodicals and Newspapers

African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archival periodicals documenting the history of African American religious life and culture, 1829-1922
1829-1922; the African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations including churches and social service agencies.
American Periodical Series Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historically significant periodicals from the Americas published between 1740 and 1940
1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Freedom's Journal, 1827-1829 (Wisconsin Historical Society)
All 103 issues, comprising Volumes 1 and 2, of the first African American newspaper published in the United States.
Chronicling America: African American Newspapers
As part of a comprehensive project to digitize American newspapers, this Library of Congress site now allows the user to sort titles by ethnicity. Currently, the project includes 44 African American newspapers from 15 states (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington) and the District of Columbia that range in date from 1870 to 1920. More titles will likely be added as the project continues to grow
more...less...
44 African American newspapers from 15 states, 1870-1920

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital newspaper archive offering more than 60 historical publications dating back to the 19th century.
These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Use the list below to search each newspaper individually.
Brown University Library subscribes to:
Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 1.8 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text and images from newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the United States.
Provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A primary source collection that provides access to books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade, 17th century - late 19th century
Slavery and Anti-Slavery provides access to Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Periodicals on Microfilm

The Colored American, 1837-1841 (New York: Robert Sears)
Weekly Advocate, 1837 (New York: Robert Sears)
The Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2012

For years after 1950, see these related titles:
Courier, 1950-1954
Pittsburgh Courier National edition , 1955-1966
New Pittsburgh Courier, 1966-2012

NOTE: Issues after 1966 are also available online in the Ethnic NewsWatch database.
The Colored American Magazine, 1900-1909
Published in Boston
The Colored Tribune, 1875-1876
Published in Savannah, Georgia
The Colored Citizen, 1878-1879
Published at Topeka, Kansas.
A. M. Journal (Chicago: American Muslim Mission)
1982-1985. Earlier issues can be found under the titles A. M. News (1982), World Muslim News (1981-1982), Bilalian News (1975-1981), and Muhammad Speaks (1961-1975).

Exhibits

Alice Dunnigan, Pioneer of the National Black Press