The course project this semester is to focus on a particular group or community and trace how social factors (both historical and contemporary) influence the health of their group or community.
Particular strengths include works by African American authors from Phillis Wheatley through the present time, along with sheet music pertaining to both minstrelsy and later African American performers.
Brown Class of 1928 (and A.M. 1932), Saunders Redding was the first African American to teach at an Ivy League school. The collection includes much of his own creative writing.
Comprises correspondence, photographs, bibliography and study guides devoted to understanding Hayden's poetry in the context of his Baha'i faith over the course of his life.
Contains 1,462 plays by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries, 1850-present
1850-present; Black Drama, Second Edition contains approximately 1,462 plays from the mid-1800s to the-present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Includes nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries
African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success and recognition.
Includes nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries
African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success and recognition.
A collection of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
