The Caribbean Writers Summer Institute, hosted by the University of Miami English Department, was held for five weeks during the summer in Miami, Florida from 1991 through 1996. It provides access to interviews and panel discussions with Edwidge Danticat among other Black women writers.
The Black Women Writers Project uplifts and celebrates the contributions and legacies of Black women and gender expansive writers by improving visibility of institution-based, community, and personal archival materials.
Contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the-present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries
Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the-present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
This collection of primary resources from Cuba is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between independence and the end of the Batista regime, 1898-1958.
1898-1958; this collection is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between Cuban independence and the end of the Batista regime. In the decades following its independence from Spain in 1898, Cuba adopted the most progressive legislation for women in the western hemisphere. The documents in this collection, most of which are in Spanish, fall into three categories: works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women.
dLOC is a cooperative of Partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Types of collections include: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.
Listen to audio recordings of prominent writers from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, Portugal and other regions with Luso-Hispanic heritage populations reading from their works at the Library of Congress.
