LibGuides: EDUC 1680: Histories of Race and Education in the United States: Historical Research

Historical Research

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, 1954-present
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to more than 1,800 journals across 28 arts and humanities disciplines, 1975-present
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital newspaper archive offering more than 60 historical publications dating back to the 19th century.
These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Use the list below to search each newspaper individually.
Brown University Library subscribes to:
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
This historical newspaper provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Historical Newspapers

Brown subscribes to many online newspapers with content ranging from the 19th century to the current day. We also own many newspapers on microform. For recent newspapers (1980-present), see our Online Newspapers page. For older news coverage, see our resource guides for Historical Periodicals and Historical Newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital newspaper archive offering more than 60 historical publications dating back to the 19th century.
These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Use the list below to search each newspaper individually.
Brown University Library subscribes to:
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
This historical newspaper provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Special Collections & Archives at Brown University

The Library holds over 250 named collections (A-Z List) which are distinguished by their specialized subject matter, age, uniqueness, or value. Most of the listed collections are located in the a list of digitized collections.

Brown University Archives
University Archives contains materials that document all aspects of the history of Brown University.
Brown University President's reports
Annual, Semi-annual, Monthly, Term and general reports issued by the University President to the University Corporation.
Brown University Dean of the College Files
The Dean of the College files contains office files dating from 1939 to 1986.
Barnaby Conrad Keeney Papers
The collection documents the career of Barnaby C. Keeney, especially his tenure as president of Brown University. Brown University topics documented in the collection include alumni and alumnae, admissions, athletics, the cooperative program between Brown and Tougaloo College, buildings and grounds, the Corporation, faculty, gifts and giving, the Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology, and scholarships.
Archives at the Pembroke Center
The Pembroke Center maintains the Christine Dunham Farnham Archive and the Feminist Theory Archive in partnership with the Brown University Library. Many other resources are available as well.

Student Newspapers

Brown University Archives
University Archives contains materials that document all aspects of the history of Brown University.
Brown Daily Herald: Access World News Collection
2008 - present. Text only, not page images.
Brown Daily Herald: Freely Accessible Journals Collection
Incomplete coverage from 1891 to 2013. The John Hay Library Special Collections Reading Room contains bound volumes of all issues.
Pembroke Record in the BDR
Digital record of the newspaper published by the Women's College in Brown University from 1922-1970.
Princeton Princetonian
1842-2016. Newspapers of Princeton University and the town of Princeton, NJ.
Columbia Spectator
Historical archive covers 1877-2015.
Harvard Crimson
Historical archive covers 1776 to the present.
Vassar Newspaper Archives