Engaging East Asian Rare Materials

The Library’s Gardner Fellowship aims to foster in-depth and creative research using the Library’s rare East Asian materials in order to:

• Integrate selected materials into contemporary scholarship
• Enhance our understanding of these rare objects

Student fellows are invited to explore the Library’s collections and create original scholarship by going beyond traditional linguistic and subject boundaries. Fellows meet with advisors within and outside of the Library for guidance throughout the fellowship as they discover material,  design their projects, and present findings. 

Research outcomes can take different forms, including written essays, oral narratives, digital projects, or visual presentations.

The fellowship provides a stipend of $2500 per fellow. 

Who can apply?

The fellowship accepts two matriculated undergraduate or graduate students at Brown University. Collaborative projects are welcome.

What are the proposal requirements?

• Cover letter
• One recommendation letter
• Proposal of 500 words identifying materials for research from Special Collections that
  • states the reason for material choice and its potential research significance
  • names two experts you might consult
  • outlines the project methodology and the final product
  • provides a project timeline

How are proposals selected?

Proposals will be evaluated for their strength and creativity, as well as their research methodology and projected outcome. 

When are proposals due?

The Library opens the call for proposals for the Gardner Fellowship every fall. Projects are expected to conclude in April of the following year. For 2024, the deadline for proposals is October 27, 2024. 

Questions?

Email Zhuqing_Li@Brown.edu for more information.

Brown University Library is excited to announce the new Brown-Beijing Normal University International Research Collaboration Program to support research on China that uses the materials in the BNU library system in Beijing. While not required, collaborations with the BNU scholars can also be covered by the fellowship.

Successful applicants will receive up to three months of support for their research activities, at $2,250 per month. The deadline for submission is October 31, 2024. 

Program Highlights:

• Unique Access: Participants will have exclusive access to specialized materials and resources within BNU’s libraries that are seldom available outside of China.
• Expert Collaboration: Opportunities to collaborate directly with scholars and leading experts at Beijing Normal University, enhancing scholarly exchange.
• Support for China-Oriented Research: This initiative is designed to support and expand the scope China-oriented research across disciplines.

Eligibility:

Open to both students and faculty at Brown University who are currently engaged in or planning to start China-oriented research projects.

Application Materials:

• A 500-word research proposal outlining objectives, focusing on how the additional materials and access at BNU can enhance the expected outcomes.
• Specify the number of months requested for the proposed project.
• A current CV highlighting relevant experience and academic qualifications.
• For students: A letter of support from a faculty member familiar with your work and research aspirations.

Application Deadline:

All applications must be submitted by October 31st, with successful applicants being notified in November.

How to Apply:

Submit your research proposal, CV, and recommendation letter (if applicable) to Zhuqing_Li@Brown.edu. 

Resources:

• BNU library homepage(图书馆主页) http://www.lib.bnu.edu.cn/
• Chinese Ancient Book Resources(古籍资源) http://www.lib.bnu.edu.cn/zy/gjzy/index.htm
• Featured Resources(特色资源) http://www.lib.bnu.edu.cn/zy/tszy/index.htm 
• Database(数据库资源) https://e-resource.bnu.edu.cn/databaseNav/

BNU assists visitors with applying for campus cards and network accounts. The campus card costs 20 RMB, with an additional service fee of 10 RMB. Internet access is available at 5 RMB per day, with no charge on unused days.

The two visiting fellows from Brown have the same library privileges as regular BNU students or faculty, including access to physical books, e-books, and the library database through the campus network. However, they are not permitted to check out books.

The Undergraduate Teaching and Research Award (UTRA), administered by the University, provides support for semester-long research projects. Contact Li Zhuqing (Zhuqing_Li@brown.edu) for sponsorship if you are interested in a research project making use of the Library’s East Asian materials.

The John Hay Library Undergraduate Fellowship Program supports original research using the special collections at the John Hay Library. Over eight weeks each summer, undergraduate student fellows build research skills using primary sources to develop an original project. Projects can take the form of a traditional research paper or they may be creative or digital in format. All projects must make primary and substantive use of the rare books, manuscripts, artwork, and/or other objects at the Library.

The Undergraduate Prize for Excellence in Library Research, administered in partnership with the Office of the Dean of the College, recognizes excellence in undergraduate research projects that make creative and extensive use of the Library's collections, including, but not limited to print resources, databases, primary resources, and materials in all media. The project may take the form of a traditional paper, database, website, or other digital project.

The Library is a member of the New England Regional Fellowship Consortium, which allows for research drawing upon collections of multiple institutions in the region.