LibGuides: Philosophy: Full-Text Databases

Full-Text Databases

Access to full-texts is crucial for scholars studying historical philosophy. Below you will find a variety of full-text databases in different languages.

Past Masters

Searchable collection of classic texts in philosophy, literature, and the sciences. Collections include:
Aristotle: Complete Works
British Philosophy: 1600-1900
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Plato: Collected Dialogues
Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill
Yeats: Collected Letters
Gallica

Developed and maintained by the Bibliothèque nationale de France, Gallica is a vast and growing collection of digitized resources in French and other Western European languages. It currently offers over 100,000 digitized texts and 300,000 images. The emphasis of the site is on documents of historical or cultural value. Some sections of the site focus on literary collections such as Gallica classique, on specific themes such as Proust or utopia, or on a particular format such as periodicals. [This resource is publicly available.]
Münchener DigitalisierungsZentrum
Developed and mantained by the Bayerische Staatsministerium, the Münchener DigitalisierungsZentrum is a digital resource of the library's vast archives. Around 70% of the library's collection can be accessed online. [This resource is publicly available.]
Loeb Classics Online
The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. [This resource is publicly available.]
Jean-Jacques Rousseau en ligne
A digital collection of first edition French publications by philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Discover millions of books, journals, images and maps digitized from libraries around the world, current.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of book and ejournal titles digitized from libraries around the world. As members of HathiTrust, Brown users get PDF download access to nearly 3 million public domain or permissioned works that were a part of the Google Books digitization projects, or were contributed to the trust by other member institutions.

To login, click the LOGIN BUTTON and select Brown University from the list of institutions. If you have not already authenticated with your Brown username and password, you will then be asked to do so. While you can read articles without logging in, you will NOT be able to download articles.
Perseus This link opens in a new window
Covers the history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world, current.
Current; resources for the study of ancient Greek literature, history, art, and archaeology. [This resource is publicly available.]
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG Digital Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453.
The TLG Digital Library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453, in excess of 80 million words. It covers a wide range of disciplines such as classics, archaeology, history, art, history, philosophy, linguistics, and theology/religious studies. The new online Web version is updated regularly with new texts as they become available. (First-time users required to register a user name and password.) See TLG-L, discussion list for TLG users.