LibGuides: Philosophy: Home

Introduction

The academic study of philosophy is not only a historic discipline, but can also be divided into a variety of fields including metaphysics, epistemology, politics, ethics, aesthetics, logic, philosophy of mind, and more. Given the depth and breadth of philosophy as a discipline, scholars of philosophy often study aspects of other disciplines and as such the collections and resources for fields such as Classics, Literature, Cognitive, Linguistic & Psychological Sciences, Politics, and History may be of interest. Conversely, readers in other departments may often find themselves engaging with the philosophy collection and supporting resources.

General Resources

The following online encyclopedias offer introductory articles on various philosophers and their ideas.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
A reference work that includes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines, current.
Current; from its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

Databases Key

= Some full text
= Licensed for Brown
= Audio Available
= Video Available