LibGuides: History (American): Books + Articles

Locating Secondary Sources

Books (Print + Digital)
Articles (Databases)

BruKnow
BruKnow is the Library's platform for searching books, ebooks, databases, articles, multimedia, digital collections, and special collections, current
HathiTrust
Discover millions of books, journals, images and maps digitized from libraries around the world, current.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of book and ejournal titles digitized from libraries around the world. As members of HathiTrust, Brown users get PDF download access to nearly 3 million public domain or permissioned works that were a part of the Google Books digitization projects, or were contributed to the trust by other member institutions.

To login, click the LOGIN BUTTON and select Brown University from the list of institutions. If you have not already authenticated with your Brown username and password, you will then be asked to do so. While you can read articles without logging in, you will NOT be able to download articles.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

If you can't locate what you need in BruKnow, use WorldCat (link below) to make an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request or explore Open Access (OA) repositories (see links below).

WorldCat FirstSearch
Comprehensive database of books and other materials in library catalogs around the world. Best used for advanced search of book records.

Open Access Repositories

This is a curated list. Visit A-Z Databases to explore all of Brown's database subscriptions.

America: History and Life
Includes article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, 1954-present

1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts
An index to articles, books and dissertations on world history about the 15th century to the-present.

1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Provides access to review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, current.

2012-2020; Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research Reviews brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. OHO is a collection of the best Handbooks in 14 subject areas. The series contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. All Handbooks are available online as well as in print, and monthly updates introduce articles in advance of print publication.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Offers access to more than 1,800 journals across 28 arts and humanities disciplines, 1975-present

1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Discover articles from English-language periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, 1907-1984.

1907-1984; Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.