LibGuides: Slavic Studies: South Slavic Studies

Welcome to South Slavic Studies!

Welcome! Dobrodošli! Добродошли! This section of the LibGuide is for students seeking more information on South Slavic languages, South Slavic studies, and research in South Slavic libraries/archives. This guide includes resources pertaining to Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Slovenia.

Even during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, you can use these resources to stay connected to the South Slavic world.

Research Resources

Libraries and Archives

Archive of Bosnia and Herzegovina
State archive of BiH. Interface available in Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian, and English.
Archives of the Republic of Slovenia
State archives of Slovenia. Some access to online materials. Interface in Slovenian and English.
Clinton Digital Library
Declassified documents concerning the Bosnian War at the Clinton Digital Library (USA National Archives). In English.
COBISS
The COBISS system is used in the library systems of Slovenia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Serbia, and Montenegro. Through this website, you can access and search the digital collections of the archives of all of these countries. Interface available in English, Slovenian, Bulgarian, Bosnian, Serbian, Montenegrin, Macedonian, and Albianian.
Croatian State Archives
State archives of Croatia. In Croatian and English.
Former Yugoslavia Bibliography
Research guide focusing on digital collections of the states of the former Yugoslavia (Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Slovenia, and Kosovo). Published by the University of Illinois.
Former Yugoslav National Archive
Archival collection of the former Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. Interface available in Serbian and English, most sources in South Slavic languages.
National Digital Library of Serbia
Online library featuring over one million scanned pages. Mostly in Serbian.
National Library of Bulgaria
Collections of the National Library of Bulgaria. In Bulgarian and English.

Institutions and Organizations

Association for Women in Slavic Studies
Association of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
Primary professional organization for the study of Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia. Organizes annual conference and offers generous research and study funding.
Belgrade Jewish Historical Museum
Museum dedicated to the history of Serbian and former Yugoslavian Jews, including information about archival collections. In English and Serbian.
Bosniak Institute
Sarajevo-based cultural institution supporting research into Bosnian Muslim culture and history, featuring extensive online collections. In Bosnian.
City Museum of Skopje
Croatian History Museum
National history museum in Zagreb, Croatia.
Museum of Ivo Andrić
Museum of Yugoslavia
Nikola Tesla Museum
Oriental Institute at the University of Sarajevo
A public research institute dedicated to the study of Bosnia's Ottoman past. Interface in Bosnian and English, most archival material in Turkish, Farsi, or Arabic.
Srebrenica Virtual Museum
Virtual collections of the UK-based institution dedicated to preserving the memory and legacy of the victims of the Srebrenica Massacre.
WARM Foundation
Sarajevo-based cultural and social group dedicated to preserving memory of war and conflict in Bosnia and worldwide.

South Slavic Languages

Bosnian-Croatian-Serbian (BCS) Languages

Easy Language: Croatian
Helpful YouTube series of basic Croatian conversations
My Languages Bosnian
Grammar references and language exercises for learning Bosnian.
My Languages Croatian
Grammar references and language exercises for learning Croatian.
My Languages Serbian
Grammar references and language exercises for learning Serbian.
Omniglot Bosinian Overview
Introduction to the Bosnian language, including alphabet and pronunciation.
Omniglot Croatian Overview
Introduction to the Croatian language, including alphabet and pronunciation.
Omniglot Serbian Overview
Overview of the Serbian language, including alphabet and pronunciation.
Recnik Serbian Dictionary
Serbian-English and English-Serbian
Serbian Alphabet
Introduction to the Serbian variant of the Cyrillic alphabet.
Serbo-Bosno-Croatian Handbook
Expansive grammar reference for beginner or advanced languages learners, published by Duke University

Bulgarian Language

Bulgarian Handbook
Expansive grammar reference for beginner or advanced learners, published by Duke University.
My Languages Bulgarian
Grammar references and language exercises for learning Bulgarian.
Omniglot Bulgarian Overview
Overview of the Bulgarian language, including alphabet and pronunciation.

Macedonian Language

Macedonian Dictionary
English-Macedonian and Macedonian-English
Macedonian Handbook
Expansive grammar reference for beginner or advanced learners, published by Duke University.
Macedonian Language E-Learning Center
An online non-profit organization dedicated to Macedonian language learning and cultural understanding world-wide offering free beginner courses, language games, information about Macedonian culture, and more.
My Languages Macedonian
Grammar references and language exercises for learning Macedonian.
Omniglot Macedonian Overview
Overview of the Macedonian language, including alphabet and pronunciation.
Wikitravel Macedonian Phrasebook

Slovene Language

Slovene Handbook
Expansive grammar reference for beginner or advanced learners, published by Duke University.
My Languages Slovene
Grammar references and language exercises for learning Slovene.
Omniglot Slovene Overview
Overview of the Slovene language, including alphabet and pronunciation.
Slovene Dictionary
Slovene -English and English-Slovene

South Slavic News Resources

BalkanInsight
Provides English-language news updates on events in Southern and Eastern Europe.
Croatia Week
Online magazine focusing on cultural and social news from Croatia. In English.
RFE/RL Balkan Service
Balkan updates from Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (partially funded by the US Government). In English.
Sarajevo Times
English-language news updates on Bosnia and Herzegovina.
Skopje Diem
News updates about Macedonia. In English.
The Slovenia Times
English-lanuage source for Slovenian news focusing on business and economy.
The Sofia Globe
The Sofia Globe provides news, features, insight and analysis about Bulgaria, Central and Eastern Europe and the wider world. In English.