LibGuides: Slavic Studies: Polish Studies

Welcome to the Polish Studies LibGuide!

Welcome! Witamy! This section of the LibGuide is for students seeking more information on the Polish language, Polish studies, and research in Polish libraries/archives.

Even during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, you can use these resources to stay connected to Poland and the Polish world.

Research Resources

Libraries and Archives

Archives in Poland (Polish Institute of Arts & Sciences in America)
Basic information about archives in Poland.
Federation of Digital Libraries
Interface for searching a number of digital libraries in Poland, powered by Europeana.
Jewish Historical Institute Collections
Collections of the Jewish Historical Institute in Warsaw. Some material available online. Interface in Polish and English, most sources in Polish or Yiddish.
Karta Center Archive
Expansive online archive of the Karta Center focusing on social history of the twentieth century. In Polish.
National Archives of Poland
Basic information about national archive network in Poland. In Polish.
National Film Archive
National film archive of Poland.
National Library of Poland
Information about books in the national library. Some material can be digitized upon request.
Ninateka
Expansive archival collection of documentaries, feature films, historical footage, theater productions, and more. In Polish.
NUKAT
Catalogue of the collections of academic Polish libraries. In Polish.
Oral History Archive (Warsaw Uprising Museum)
Oral history collection compiled by the Warsaw Uprising Museum. In Polish.
Polona
Digital library created by the National Library of Poland. Interface available in English, most sources in Polish.
Search in the Archives (Szukaj w archiwach)
Archival resource aggregator that allows archival collections across Poland to be searched digitally. Some resources available online. Mostly in Polish.
Studio of Documentary and Feature Films
Official YouTube channel of one of the oldest film studios in Poland featuring movie clips and entire films. All in Polish, but many with English subtitles.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Collections
Digital collections of the USHMM. Many sources pertain to Polish history and experience of WW2 and the Holocaust.

Institutions and Organizations

Association of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
Primary professional organization for the study of Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia. Organizes annual conference and offers generous research and study funding.
Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Center
Galicia Jewish Museum (Kraków)
H-Poland
H-Net community focusing on the study of Poland.
Jewish Historical Institute (Warsaw)
Museum of Architecture (Wrocław)
Museum of the History of Polish Jews
Museum of the Warsaw Uprising
Museum of Warsaw
National Museum of Poland
Polish Cultural Institute (New York)
Polish Genealogical Society of America
Provides context and research tools for researching American Polish diaspora
Polish Studies Association
The Polish Studies Association (PSA) is an organization of scholars, publishers, librarians, archivists, and journalists who specialize in the history, culture, art, politics, economics, and society of Poland.
National Association of Architecture and Urban Planning (Warsaw)
Warsaw JCC
Jewish Community Center of Warsaw.

Polish Language

Polish--English / English--Polish Dictionaries

Pronunciation, Grammar, and Conversation

Polish: A Comprehensive Grammar
Wikibooks: Polish Pronunciation
Polish Sounds
Easy Language: Polish
Useful YouTube series of basic Polish conversation.
Grammatical Polish Dictionary
Resource listing all forms of Polish words.
3Ears
Program that allows language learning through interactive stories and videos. Available in Russian, Czech, Polish, Romanian, Hungarian, and Ukrainian.

Polish News Resources

Culture.Pl
Focusing on stories relating to Polish culture. In English and Polish.
Notes from Poland
Independent source publishing English-language stories about Polish politics, news, and culture.
Gazeta Wyborcza
Major newspaper. In Polish.
Tok.FM
News and podcasts on different topics of Polish news, politics, history, and culture. In Polish.

Reference Sources

Some circulation of reference materials has been interrupted due to the COVID-19 pandemic. To access these materials, please contact library staff and we will be happy to help you!