LibGuides: Slavic Studies: Belarusian Studies

Welcome to Belarusian Studies!

Welcome! Вiтаем! This section of the LibGuide is for students seeking more information on the Belarusian language, Belarusian studies, and research in Belarusian libraries/archives.

Even during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, you can use these resources to stay connected to Belarus and the Belarusian world.

Research Resources

Libraries and Archives

Belarus Records in Various Archives
Helpful guide explaining how to use various archives in the Belarusian system. Published by JewishGen.
EHRI Belarus Research Guide
Comprehensive and thorough research guide explaining how to conduct Holocaust-related research in Belarusian archives. Published by the European Holocaust Research Institute.
National Archives of Belarus
State archive of the Republic of Belarus. Interface available in English.
National History Archive of Belarus
State archive, a research and resource centre for the management of the records of the National Archival Fund of the Republic of Belarus. Interface available in Belarusian, English, and Russian.
National Library of Belarus
State library collections of Belarus. Interface available in Belarusian, English, and Russian.
Soviet Archives at the Hoover Institute
Archival and library collections pertaining to the Soviet Union, including many collections with Belarusian material.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Collections
Digital collections of the USHMM. Many sources pertain to Belarusian history and experience of WW2 and the Holocaust.

Institutions and Organizations

Association for Women in Slavic Studies
Association of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
Primary professional organization for the study of Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia. Organizes annual conference and offers generous research and study funding.
Belarusian State Academy of the Arts
Belarusian State Museum of the History of the Great Patriotic War
Marc Chagall Museum
Minsk History Museum
National Academy of Sciences of Belarus
National Museum of the History of Belarus

Belarusian Language

Belarusian-English / English-Belarusian Dictionaries

Belarusian Dictionary
Dictionary and grammar reference.
Glosbe
English-Belarusian / Belarusian-English dictionary

Pronunciation, Conversation, and Grammar

Belarusian Grammar Guide
Thorough guide to Belarusian grammar, available as a PDF download.
Belarusian Wikibooks
Extensive grammar and syntax reference book for the Belarusian language, including 17 intro lessons.
Learn Belarusian 101
Comprehensive overview of Belarusian grammar and structure.

Belarusian News Resources

BelarusFeed
Daily news from Belarus, life, facts, business and culture. In English.
Belsat English
English-language version of independent Belarusian news network based in Warsaw. Joint funding from various sources, including the Polish Ministry of Affairs.
RFE/RL Belarusian Service
Belarusian updates from Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (partially funded by the US Government). In English.