A primary source collection, divided into: personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments
The First World War portal makes available invaluable primary sources for the study of the Great War, brought together in four thematic modules. From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.
Provides access to oral histories, correspondence, military records, and artifacts related to U.S. military personnel and civilians during World War Two
Uncover the stories of American military personnel and civilians during the Second World War through their oral histories, correspondence, diaries, photographs, artifacts, and military records. This digital resource offers an insight into the personal experiences of those involved in the conflict, both on the United States home front and on deployment overseas in Europe, the Mediterranean, the Pacific, China, Burma and India.
Sourced from the National Archives of the UK, these historical documents capture the hidden history of war-torn Europe, 1940-1945.
These historical documents capture the hidden history of war-torn Europe. Here is the complete record of political life in Occupied Western Europe available to the British Government during World War II from the original intelligence reports received by the British Foreign Office following the breakdown of normal diplomatic relations during wartime from class "FO 371" at The National Archives. The collection includes detailed information indexed by year and section, from the occupied states of Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway and the Vatican, and the neutral countriesPortugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.
Provides access to primary source materials of the study of Empire and its theories, practices and consequences.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries.
A research for the study of women's history, spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
This collection is considered to be the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and 15 languages. The broad scope of Gerritsen Online allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. Gerritsen Online consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.
Brings together manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history, 1500-present.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.
Drawing upon the manuscript archives of the National Library of Scotland, the collection covers the history of South Asia between the founding of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
This collection draws upon the unique manuscript archives of the National Library of Scotland. It provides a fully searchable online resource for studying the relationship between Britain and the British Empire in India in which the Scots played a unique and central role as traders, generals, missionaries, Viceroys, Governor-Generals and East India Company officials.
This collection weaves the story of India and Empire through the writings of Governor-Generals, Commander-in-Chiefs, Indian Princes, soldiers, traders, missionaries, explorers, historians and authors of literary works, indigo farmers and tea and coffee planters. It is composed of original manuscript material, comprising diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.
Especially strong for the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries this collection will be of particular interest to historians studying:
The British Indian Empire; government, administration and politics. The relationship between Britain and the British Indian Empire. The relationship between the British Indian Empire and Indian Princely States. The Mysore and Maratha wars and other conflicts. The role of the Scots in India. The Indian Uprising. Trade and Agriculture.
Find guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals, 1850-1980's
1850-1980's; this resource-presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.
Provides access to the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history.
From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history.
This link opens in a new window
