LibGuides: FREN1020A Histoire de la langue française: Francophonie

Primary Sources

Littérature de l'Afrique noire Textes d'auteurs africains datant du 18ème siècle jusqu'en 1960

Francophone resources on the web

Reseau France Outre-Mer
Société nationale de programme et un opérateur de multiplex numérique terrestre du groupe France Télévisions opérant sur quatre continents un réseau de dix chaînes de télévision et dix stations de radio publiques à destination de l'outre-mer français.
Reseau francophone numérique
Collaborative project among 'francophone' libraries to digitize books, newspapers, journals, archives, maps and audiovisual documents.
LIMAG, littératures du Maghreb
A site dedicated to the needs of scholars of the literatures from North Africa.
Bibliothèque électronique de Lisieux
A collection of francophone literary texts and documents in the public domain digitized by the Médiathèque André Malraux de Lisieux.
Wikipedia France
The French Wikipedia site. Use French terms to search.
Signets BnF Langue et littératures françaises et d'expression française
Web sites on French and Francophone languages & literatures selected & maintained by the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Organisation internationale de la Francophonie
A portal to Francophone resources and news
Génériques
Histoire et mémoire de l'immigration en France et en Europe
Services culturelles de l'Ambassade de France
Dedicated to creating transatlantic dialogue in the arts and education from French and American perspectives.

Finding newspaper articles

EUREKA.CC
Current; Eureka.cc, aka Virtual News Library (Newscan)is a database of news and current events that cover a large number of French language newspapers and magazines wordlwide. You can search for articles or read PDF versions of full-text newspapers. To search French-language titles, under "Sources" select "Europe (FR)". You can also specific titles under "Specific Sources". For help in getting started, see Reference Guide for Eureka.cc.

Library PressDisplay
Current (last 60 days); Library PressDisplay is an online newspaper portal which offers over 1000 newspapers from 83 countries in 40 languages. To read newspapers in French, first select a country auch as "France", "Belgium" or "Martinique", and you'll see which titles are viewable in their original format.

LexisNexis Academic
Current; said to be the world's largest full-text, online database, containing more than a billion full-text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information. Link to A-Z list of resources on LexisNexis Academic. For help in getting started, see Introduction to LexisNexis Video Tutorial.