LibGuides: Neuroscience: Databases

Biomedical

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the freely available interface for MEDLINE, the largest biomedical literature database in the world. PubMed offers millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full text from PubMed Central, and online books, from the 1800s-present. Use the Brown University link to access full text subscriptions through the University library.
Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biomedical research, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research, 1947-present.
SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive discovery tool of chemical information. SciFinder-N is the new interface for SciFinder.
NOTE: This resource requires individual registration with your Brown email address. You must be on-campus or using the University's VPN when setting up your account. If you are first-time user, click HERE to register. If you've already registered, use the "SciFinder" link above.
Use of this resource is limited to current faculty, administrative staff, and registered students and their use is limited to academic research, teaching, and publication purposes only. Any commercial use is strictly prohibited.

Psychology & Cognition

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations of behavioral and social science research from the American Psychological Association (APA), 1887-present
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations, 1988-present
APA PsycEXTRA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full access to peer-reviewed and grey literature and bibliographic records from the American Psychological Association (APA).

General STEM

These databases index citations to references, which allows for forward-searching and citation chaining. You can also search by topic and use the available filter and sorting options to limit your results to highly cited articles.

Web Of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scientific, social science, and humanities research; along with forward and backward citation searching capabilities, 1900-present
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts who are recognized leaders in their fields. Use it to find authoritative research, identify experts, and access reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools for a variety of disciplines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature. Connect Brown University in Google settings to access full text, current.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Google Scholar includes much of Brown's library materials as well. Look for the "FindIt@Brown" button.

Lens.org
A search and data visualization tool for exploring patent information. Lens.org search capabilities offer advanced boolean functions, structured search, biological search, classification search, and good filtering and sorting options.