Provides access to publications in astronomy, astrophysics, physics, and general science, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), 1975-present
1975-present; from the Smithsonian and NASA, this database of abstracts contains data from several sources, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through our Abstract Service query forms and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed though our Browse interface. Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives. [This resource is publicly available]
Discover peer-reviewed optics and photonics content via the Optical Society's (OSA) digital library, 1917-present.
1917-present; access to the largest collection of peer-reviewed optics and photonics content via The Optical Society's (OSA) digital library. This repository includes all of OSA's content, and complements it with key co-publications. With papers from journals and conferences, the content covers a breadth of disciplines. Conference papers are included, but the earliest is 1985.
Provides access to papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging.
1990-present; the SPIE Digital Library is an extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 300,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings. Contents of the SPIE Digital Library Proceedings of SPIE: Starting at Volume 1200 (1990)* Optical Engineering: Starting at Volume 29 (1990) Journal of Electronic Imaging: Starting at Volume 1 (1992) Journal of Biomedical Optics: Starting at Volume 1 (1996) Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS: Starting at Volume 1 (2002) Journal of Applied Remote Sensing: Starting at Volume 1 (2007) Journal of Nanophotonics: Starting at Volume 1 (2007) Journal of Photonics for Energy: Starting at Volume 1 (2011) SPIE eBooks: A selection beginning 1989 * Some Proceedings volumes are not available in the SPIE Digital Library as SPIE does not have electronic rights to this material.
Open access repository for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics
Current; an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. ArXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation. [This resource is publicly available.]
Provides access to full-text Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports, 1995-present.
1995-present; provides access to full-text DOE research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. [This resource is publicly available.]
Provides information about high energy physics, current.
Current; four international laboratories for high energy physics - CERN (the European Organization for Nuclear Research center for accelerator research), DESY (Deutches Electronen-Synchroton - German laboratory), Fermilab (DOE national laboratory), and SLAC (National accelerator laboratory at Stanford University) - have built the next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, INSPIRE. This system replaces SPIRE. The database content, still curated by subject specialists at DESY, Fermilab, and SLAC, is combined with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN. Bibliographic data is updated daily. The collaboration works closely with HEP publishers including arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG (Particle Data Group at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory). Full text access of indexed articles depends on Brown University Library's subscriptions. [This resource is publicly available.]
Provides access to all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, 1954-present
1954-present; the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) Digital Library is a collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. Access is also provided to the ACM guide, which is a collection of bibliographic citations and abstracts of works published by ACM and other publishers. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the guide.
Provides access to technical literature covering engineering and technology.
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. Content: IEEE journals, transactions, letters, and magazines from 1988 with select content back to 1913, IEEE conference proceedings from 1988 with select content back to 1953, IEEE standards from 1948, IET journals, letters, and magazines from 1988 with select content back to 1965, and IET conference proceedings from 1988.
Access reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences literature, 1940-present.
1940-present; an index to the international research literature in mathematics, math-related research in computer science, statistics, econometrics, and other disciplines, produced by the American Mathematical Society. MathSciNet is also available via the EBSCOhost interface. For help using MathSciNet see Video Tutorials Menu.
Provides access to the full text of peer-reviewed papers-presented at MRS (Materials Research Society) meetings, 1980-present.
1980-present; features the full text of over 68,000 peer-reviewed papers-presented at MRS (Materials Research Society) meetings with papers added daily. Proceedings papers can be browsed, sorted by meeting or topic, and are fully searchable by author name, paper title, volume number and keyword.
PubMed is the freely available interface for MEDLINE, the largest biomedical literature database in the world. PubMed offers millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full text from PubMed Central, and online books, from the 1800s-present. Use the Brown University link to access full text subscriptions through the University library.
Provides access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
1907-present; SciFinder-Nis a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. . Each user must REGISTER. USERS MUST HAVE A Brown IP (EZproxy or VPN) AND SUBMIT A BROWN EMAIL ADDRESS WHEN REGISTERING. CREATE A NEW USERNAME AND PASSWORD - DO NOT USE YOUR BROWN LOGIN/PASSWORD.
Use of this resource is limited to current faculty, administrative staff, and registered students and their use is limited to academic research, teaching, and publication purposes only. Any commercial use is strictly prohibited.
An abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics, 1826-present
1868-present; Zentralblatt Math covers the entire spectrum of mathematics including applications in computer science, mechanics, physics, etc. It contains references to the worldwide literature drawn from currently about 2,300 journals and serials, from conference proceedings, collections of papers and books.