LibGuides: Urban Studies: Citing & Writing

Citing Urban Studies papers

The format used for urban studies papers may vary. See below for or examples and explanations of some of the possible formats. For Brown Library books that can be checked out or read online, use this subject heading: "Bibliographical citations."

APA Format from The Owl
A comprehensive resource to the APA Style from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
Concise APA Handbook 7th Edition
Condensed ebook version.
Chicago Manual of Style Format from The Owl
A comprehensive resource to the Chicago Style from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide
Easy to use guide for looking up bibliography and footnote formats.
Chicago Manual of Style Online Book
The full, searchable digital version of this resource.
Citing Special Collections and Manuscripts
Guide from UNC Asheville that explains how to cite these materials using Chicago style.

MLA Handbook Plus
Access to ninth edition of the MLA Handbook online.

MLA Format from The OWL
A comprehensive resource to the MLA Style from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
Citing Images
Clear examples for MLA, Chicago, APA from Colgate University Visual Resources Library. Includes examples from various sources and different types of artworks plus architecture.
Crediting a Photo Used Online
Some helpful tips.
Citing Materials from Special Collections and Archives
This guide from Kenyon College discusses guidelines for MLA, Chicago, and APA styles.
Citing primary sources in Chicago format
A guide from the Library of Congress, similar to the guide to MLA style listed above.
Citing primary sources in MLA format
A thorough guide, from the Library of Congress. Includes info on how to cite articles and essays, cartoons and illustrations, films, government publications, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, oral histories, photos, and sound recordings.

Belo Horizonte, Brazil. 2005. Photograph by Bruno Girin via Creative Commons license.

Preserving Web Links

Perma.cc
Perma.CC is a service maintained by the Harvard Law Library. Its purpose is to facilitate sustainable citation of web pages and web documents by archiving an image of a web page and/or web document in the case that one day the site URL is no longer accessible (i.e., link rot). Images are stored and assigned an indentifier and URL for citation in a footnote/references/works cited. Features include the ability to upload a CSV of URLs and the automatic creation of permanent links. Contact perma@brown.edu to request a Brown University Perma.CC account through the University Library, offering users the ability to create an unlimited amount of permanent links.
Wayback Machine
Maintained by the non-profit Internet Archive, users can enter a URL in bar labeled 'Save Page Now' (if website allows crawling).

Transcription of Oral Materials

Transcribe
Created by Brown Center for Computation & Visualization for the Brown community to ensure data privacy and security.

Citation Managers and More

Brown supports several citation managers, including EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero. Please see the page below for descriptions. links, and comparisons of the software.

Citation Management
Information on citation, citation management software, plagiarism, copyright, fair use, and creative commons

Help with Writing Papers

Your librarian can help you with researching your paper, but what about the actual writing process?

For Brown Library books that can be checked out or read online, use this subject heading:

Art Criticism -- Authorship.

Research Support
This guide discusses some of the basics of doing college level research, including tips for evaluating sources and a glossary of terms with examples. It also offers tutorials, a library orientation, and much more.
Developing a Thesis for a Research Paper
This very helpful guide from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center discusses the art of crafting a thesis.
Plan your research paper
Use the University of Minnesota Libraries' Research Paper Navigator! Just enter the due date and subject of your paper, and this incredible resource will generate a timeline for your research, drafting and revising, as well as point you toward relevant sources and help you avoid accidental plagiarism.

Sage Research Methods
Provides access to 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics, current.

Current; SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Harriet W. Sheridan Center for Teaching and Learning (Writing Center)
Writing Center associates assist students with all stages of the writing process, from finding a topic through drafting, revising, and final editing.
WordCounter
This free tool helps improve word choice and writing style, and, optionally, help you to detect grammar mistakes and plagiarism. In addition, WordCounter shows you the top 10 keywords and keyword density of the article you're writing. This allows you to know which keywords you use how often and at what percentages. This can prevent you from over-using certain words or word combinations and check for best distribution of keywords in your writing.
Using Gender-Inclusive Language
Tackling gendered references in your writing can be challenging, especially since there isn’t (and may never be) a universally agreed upon set of concrete guidelines on which to base your decisions. This guide can help.

Mu'in Musawir. Bearded Man Reading in a Landscape. Iran,1635. Courtesy of Los Angeles County Museum of Art.