Skip to main content

Sociology

For More Statistics & Data...

This page contains some basic data sets used by scholars in Sociology.

For a much more comprehensive list of data and statistics of interest in Sociology and the Social Sciences, please see the Statistics & Data guide, found here.

Demographic data

Census Bureau Economic Programs
Dates vary; U.S. Census Bureau gateway provides access to data from various economic and business-related censuses, surveys, and other programs, including: � Economic Census � County Business Patterns � Annual Survey of Manufactures � Foreign Trade Industry snapshots from census data available at http://business.census.gov

OECD Education Statistics  
Current; OECD Education Statistics consists of two parts. The UNESCO/OECD/EUROSTAT (UOE) Database on Education covers the outputs of educational institutions, the policy levers that shape educational outputs, the human and financial resources invested in education, structural characteristics of education systems, and the economic and social outcomes of education, learning and training throughout life. The second part is The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) which is an internationally standardised assessment that was jointly developed by participating countries and administered to 15-year-olds in schools internationally. PISA assesses how far students near the end of compulsory education have acquired some of the knowledge and skills that are essential for full participation in society. In all cycles, the domains of reading, mathematical and scientific literacy are covered not merely in terms of mastery of the school curriculum, but in terms of important knowledge and skills needed in adult life.

OECD Health Statistics
Current; OECD Health Data is a source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. It enables health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. Many time series going back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include:
* Health Status * Health Care Resources * Health Care Utilisation * Expenditure on Health * Health Care Financing * Social Protection * Pharmaceutical Market * Non-medical Determinants of Health * Demographic References * Economic References

OECD Social and Welfare Statistics  
Current available; OECD Social and Welfare Statistics includes a dataset in the area of social expenditure, of which the main social policy areas are as follows: old age, survivors, incapacity-related benefits, health, family, active labour market programmes, unemployment, housing, and other social policy areas. It also includes income distribution, which covers comparable data on the distribution of household income to provide both a point of reference for judging the performance of any country and an opportunity to assess the role of common drivers as well as drivers that are country-specific. Benefits and Wages series addresses the complicated interactions of tax and benefit systems for different family types and labour market situations, and the Child Well-Being dataset compares 21 policy-focussed measures of child well-being in six areas, chosen to cover the major aspects of children’s lives: material well being; housing and environment; education; health and safety; risk behaviours; and quality of school life. Finally, Pensions at a Glance is covering all 34 OECD countries, and is designed to show future entitlements for workers who entered the labour market in 2008 and spend their entire working lives under the same set of rules.

SimplyMap
SimplyMapis an online data exploration and mapping tool that incorporates access to many different data sets including data from the US Census and business and marketing variables. These components include: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments/Life Stages.
For first time users, please register with SimplyMap using your Brown email address and do so while you are connected to the internet via Brown University's network.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Provides summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Other data sets

China Data Online 
1952-present; collection of statistical materials including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, Monthly Industrial Data, Yearly Industrial Data, Statistics with Map & Charts, and Statistical Yearbooks.

Europa World Year Book 
Current; Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book. One of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistics and international organizations.

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research  
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations) 
Current; monthly economic statistics for most the countries and areas of the world. In addition, each month a different selection of special tables is presented showing annual and/or quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic long-term trends and developments. {This resource is publicly available.]

World Development Indicators  
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.