Skip to Main Content

Sociology

This guide offers starting points for your research. All e-resources are available to you online when you're signed in to Brown's network.

Introduction: Find peer-reviewed articles

A key concept in conducting library research is searching subject databases that collect peer-reviewed articles in your discipline. You can find many sociology-related articles using general article search strategies, like BruKnow or Google Scholar. But if you want to target a specific topic area, find a more diverse range of sources and perspectives that may be difficult to spot in general-interest searches, or learn about the most up-to-date ideas in your field, you'll want to dive into the specialized world of subject databases.

Below, you will find some of the most useful sociology databases that will lead you to peer-reviewed articles.

Key Databases for Sociology

Here is a broader collection of social science holdings with a strong Sociology focus

Social Organizations & Business

Business, Entrepreneurship & Organizations

See the BEO research guide/ Finding articles for secondary resources related to organizations, business, entrepreneurship, and finance.

Political/ Policy Related

Gender

Public Health

General Social Sciences databases

 Encycopedia of Social Measurement  
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Provides information on transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods. Covering all core social science disciplines, the 300+ articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search