Journals @ Brown
This is the "Home" page of the "French and Francophone Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

French and Francophone Studies   Tags: dictionary, dictionnaire, france, francophonie, french, literature  

Bienvenue! In this guide you will find resources and tools to help you study the French language and research French literature and culture.
Last Updated: May 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/frenchstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Nouveautés littéraires

  • En France: cliquer ici (site de la BnF)
  • A Brown: cliquer ici et voir les titres les plus récents:
Loading Loading...
blank padding

Popular Library Resources for French Studies

  • Le Grand Robert & Collins
    Considered the most authoritative bilingual French-English/English-French dictionary (Brown users only)
  • Le Grand Robert de la Langue Française
    A friendly and convenient interface to the most complete French language dictionary (Brown users only)
  • Encyclopaedia Universalis
    The most comprehensive French-Language Encyclopedic Resource Online. Use EZProzy to access this resource off-campus; it does not work with the SSL VPN (Brown users only)
  • EUREKA.CC  Icon  Icon
    Eureka.cc, aka Virtual News Library (Newscan) is a database of news and current events that contains more than 115-million articles from over 2,500 daily newspapers, journals, magazines, news wires, tv transcripts and others covering more than 20 years. Very strong in French and francophone sources.
  • For tips on off-campus access to these resources, click here.
 

Beginning Your Search

You may want to start with the Library Search Box, where you can look for books, articles, journal, and databases from a single keyword search. If you wish, you can use Boolean search terms (AND, OR, NOT) to focus your search  but be sure to capitalize them as demonstrated below:

  

  

A keyword search will turn up two results screens. On the left side are books, ebooks, and archival material, and on the right side are a variety of subscription holdings, including journal articles. To focus your search, click on the Filter button on either side and choose how you'd like to narrow down your list of results or click on one of the suggested subject headings that appear at the top of the page.

It is important to note that the Library Search Box will NOT return articles that are unavailable online at Brown, so if you wish to do a comprehensive search, you should also check the subject databases.

Are you new to humanities research? Take a look at our Humanities Research Guide, which will help you through the process from beginning your search to writing the paper.


Your Librarian

Profile Image
Patricia Figueroa

Curator, Iberian and Latin American Collections

Contact Info
E-mail (preferred): Patricia_Figueroa@brown.edu
Phone: (401) 863-1836
Office: Rockefeller Library, Room 326 (please contact me via e-mail to schedule an appointment)
Send Email

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
William S. Monroe
wmonroe@libraryh3lp.com/BULChat
 

Chat with Dominique

JavaScript is disabled. Chat requires JavaScript.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip