LibGuides: French Studies: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Online Dictionaries

Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française
Search the 9th edition of the dictionary online as well as other resources pertaining to the French Language.
Le Grand Robert & Collins
Considered the most authoritative bilingual French-English/English-French dictionary (Brown users only)
Le Grand Robert de la Langue Française
A friendly and convenient interface to the most complete French language dictionary (Brown users only)

Encyclopaedia Universalis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A French-language general encyclopedia, includes geographic and dictionary entries.
The most comprehensive French-Language encyclopedic resource online.
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various historical dictionaries (Dictionnaires d'autrefois) and the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert.
Over 2,600 texts (mostly scholarly editions) ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The powerful search and retrieval engine, PhiloLogic3, enables scholars to perform textual analysis, and to limit and extend both the searches and search results from various points of view.

Gallica - Dictionaries and encyclopedias
Gallica is the repository of digital materials from the Biblithèque Nationale de France. It provides access to hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias from various periods.