This is the "Home" page of the "Comparative Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Comparative Literature  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/comparative_literature Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
William S. Monroe
wmonroe@libraryh3lp.com/BULChat
 

Ask William Monroe

JavaScript is disabled. Chat requires JavaScript.
 

Individual Databases for Comparative Literature

Academic Search Premier    
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies    
1990-present; ABSEES covers North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records, some with full text links, for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.

ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)    
Over 2,600 texts (mostly scholarly editions) ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The powerful search and retrieval engine, PhiloLogic3, enables scholars to perform textual analysis, and to limit and extend both the searches and search results from various points of view.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index   
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.

Bible in English    
A collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.

BibleWorks 9 
2011 edition. BibleWorks is an electronic Bible concordance and morphological analysis program. It includes texts of the Hebrew O.T., Greek O.T. and N.T. and a wide range of English and modern foreign language texts. It also has Bible dictionaries and other aids. (Available on Computer 2 in the Rockefeller computing cluster)

Bibliografía de la Literatura Española desde 1980    
1980-present; a resource for scholars of Spanish literature, Bibliografía de la Literatura Española provides bibliographic information on a wide range of subject areas including literary theory, literary genres, popular literature, Hispanism, bibliographies and authors.

Bibliography of Asian Studies    
1971-present; this online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 610,000 records of materials in all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) Digital Edition    
Ongoing; based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, this resource serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.

Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819): Shaw-Shoemaker, Digital Edition.    
Ongoing, Shaw-Shoemaker covers every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States. Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819)provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items, thoroughly chronicles the people, ideas and events behind the early political, social, cultural and geographic growth of the United States.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)    
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts(1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Subjects include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Text Creation Project    
Fully searchable electronic texts of 40,000 of the 100,000+ titles in Early English Books Online (EEBO) are being made available through this Text Creation Partnership. These editions are presented in a modern format that can be accessed by topic, by date, by type of material, and various other parameters for both instructional and research purposes.

Encyclopedia of Literature    
Accessible as part of Literature Resource Center. The LRC covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, and indexes publications such as Contemporary Literary CriticismDictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Authors.

English Short Title Catalog 
The ESTC, English Short Title Catalog, is an in-process list of books published in all languages in Great Britain, and in English elsewhere, from 1475-1800. [This resource is publicly available.]

FRANCIS   
1984-present; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include: art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.

Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI)    
1970-present; HAPI is an online source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Included are complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in over 400 key scholarly social science and humanities journals published worldwide.

JSTOR    
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. 

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. 
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

LexisNexis Academic    
Current; said to be the world's largest full-text, online database, containing more than a billion full-text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information. For help in getting started, see Introduction to LexisNexis Video Tutorial.

Literature Online (LION)    
Literature Online is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Literature Resource Center (LRC)    
Current; provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. The LRC covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, and indexes publications such as Contemporary Literary CriticismDictionary of Literary Biography, andContemporary Authors.

MLA International Bibliography    
1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries    
Colonial-1950; ongoing. When complete, the collection will include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Includes materials from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings.

Patrologia Latina    
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory matter, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.

Project Gutenberg 
Project Gutenberg is the Internet's oldest producer of free electronic books. [This resource is publicly available.]

Project Muse    
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links toJSTOR.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text    
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.

Readers' Guide Retrospective   
1890-1982; contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. See Readers Guide Abstracts for 1982 to present.

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory    
Ulrich's is a database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and can be useful in identifying where a specific journal may be indexed.

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 
The Wellesley CD-ROM Index to Victorian Periodicals provides access to the printed sources of Victorian thought and opinion. While of prime interest to those studying literature, history, and Victorian life, the Wellesley Index also covers articles on politics, religion, economics, art, science, archaeology, and philosophy. (Available on Computer 2 in the Rockefeller computing cluster.) (Rockefeller Library)

Women Writers Online    
1400-1850; full text collection of writing by women in English with currently about 200 texts and growing. Includes a wide range of subjects and genres, and all texts are transcribed in full, including front and back matter.

WorldCat    
Books, journals, sound recordings, videos and manuscripts collected and catalogued by your library and libraries around the world. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

 

Databases Key

full text icon = Some full text
licensed icon = Licensed for Brown
audio icon = Audio Available
video icon = Video Available


Look for this button in search results to find full text -- find it


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip