LibGuides: Comparative Literature: Secondary Sources: Criticism & Scholarship

Finding Articles in Databases

Databases are specialized collections of citations and full-text links to articles in specific subject areas. Using a database can help you limit your search more easily to a specific subject and will also give you citations to works that we don't have in the Brown Library, which you can then request from Interlibrary Loan by using the Findit! link.

Also see the Reference Works page for encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Zakaria ibn Muhammad Qazwini. Wonders of Creation: Sea Monsters. Islamic,14th century. Luna Collection.

Multicultural Literature & Language

JSTOR Lives of Literature
Provides access to advanced literary studies and interdisciplinary research on writers and texts critical to curricula in literature, current.

Current; JSTOR Lives of Literature supports advanced literary studies and interdisciplinary research on writers and texts critical to curricula in literature and broadens the range of authors and texts covered on JSTOR.
Literature Criticism Online
A compilation of literary commentary, current.

Current; this resource is from the well-known Contemporary Literary Criticism and offers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors, current.

Current; provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. The LRC covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, and indexes publications such as Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Authors.
MLA International Bibliography
1926-present.
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

Yusuf ibn Antuniyus ibn Sudan al-Halabi. A Threaded Pearl of the History of the Byzantine Kings: Portrait of Sultan Sulaiman Qanuni. 1659-1667. Luna Collection.

Asian Literature & Language

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliographic information for materials pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, 1971-present

1971-present; this online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 610,000 records of materials in all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.

English and American Literature & Language

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
See ProQuest One Literature.

The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. It is available to search via ProQuest One Literature.
Bibliography of American Literature
A printed record of 37,000 works of U.S. literature; 17th century-1930

Bibliography of American Literature describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930. The collection is essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Literature Online (LION)
See ProQuest One Literature.
ProQuest One Literature
A comprehensive collection of primary texts, contemporary and historical criticism, reference sources, full text journals, and audio and video by and about authors from around the world. Search the ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) index of bibliographic citations for literary criticism here. Formerly Literature Online (LION).

Times Literary Supplement, 1902-1968
Print issues of older editions of the weekly literary review published in London.
Times Literary Supplement, 1969-present
Online access to the weekly literary review published in London.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides access to Shakespeare-related scholarship, 1960-present

1960-2012; the current release of the World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and 2012.

European Literature & Language

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Covers U.S. and Canadian scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union, 1990-present

1990-present; ABSEES covers North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records, some with full text links, for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
Access more than 2,600 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to non-fiction prose and technical writing.

Over 2,600 texts (mostly scholarly editions) ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The powerful search and retrieval engine, PhiloLogic3, enables scholars to perform textual analysis, and to limit and extend both the searches and search results from various points of view.
Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft Online (BDSL)
A comprehensive bibliography and index of publications on German language and literary studies, 1985-present

1985-present; BDSL is considered the most comprehensive bibliography and index of publications on German language and literary studies. BDSL Online provides citations to monographs and to articles and reviews in journals, collected studies, and newspapers from a number of international sources. Searching is available in the usual ways such as by author, title, etc., and by up to 18 thematic and chronological categories. For 1945-1984, consult the print volumes.
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek
Provides access to books, archival objects, images, film, music, and sound from Germany's cultural and scientific institutions

The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek, funded by German federal, state, and local governments, serves as a portal to works from Germany's cultural and scientific institutions. Works include books, archival objects, images, film, music and sound. Currently, over twenty million objects are indexed on the site, nearly eight million of which include digitized media. Copyright information and licensing rights will differ according to participating institutions. The site is searchable in German or English.
DigiZeitschriften
Access back issues of more than 100 German scholarly journals.

DigiZeitschriften is a digital archive of back issues of 100+ German scholarly journals. The archive offers browsing capabilities, phrase and keyword searching of titles of articles, chapters, and tables of contents for journals in the fields of art history, economy, education, geology, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, natural sciences, religion and sociology. Years of coverage vary from journal to journal and are listed in the "Open Access" section of the site.

Gallica
Online full text resource of historical publications and images from the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Periodicals dating back to the 18th century. Searches should be carried out in French.

Klapp-Online
A bibliography and index of scholarly publications on French literary studies, 1956-2011.

1956-2011; updated annually. Klapp, Bibliographie der franzsischen Literaturwissenschaft = Bibliographie d'histoire littraire franaise is considered the most comprehensive bibliography and index of scholarly publications on French literary studies. Klapp-Online, the online edition, is an extensive index of journal articles and book chapters, covering general works, with works arranged by century and themes. It complements the MLA International Bibliography and is particularly strong in European publications. Print volumes are available for 1956-2011.

Latin American Literature & Language

Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI)
Provides access to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other research materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, 1967-present.

1970-present; HAPI is an online source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Included are complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in over 400 key scholarly social science and humanities journals published worldwide.

Book Reviews

London Review of Books
Provides access to detail from culture and politics to science and technology via history and philosophy, 1979-present.

1979-present; the LRB is Europes leading magazine of books and ideas. Published twice a month, it provides a space for some of the worlds best writers to explore a wide variety of subjects in exhilarating detail from culture and politics to science and technology via history and philosophy. In the age of the long read, the LRB remains the pre-eminent exponent of the intellectual essay, admired around the world for its fearlessness, its range and its elegance.

Times Literary Supplement, 1902-1968
Print issues of older editions of the weekly literary review published in London.
Times Literary Supplement, 1969-present
Online access to the weekly literary review published in London.
American Book Reviews
2005 to present. ABR specializes in reviews of frequently neglected published works of fiction, poetry, and literary and cultural criticism from small, regional, university, ethnic, avant-garde, and women's presses.
New York Times Book Review
2001 to present.

Internet

Bibliography for Work in Comparative Literatures and Cultures
Compiled by Steven Tötösy de Zepetnek, University of Alberta.