This guide aims to provide assistance in finding and using resources in general and modern history. If you are seeking information on pre-modern history, there are more specific guides under Early Cultures, Egyptology, Ancient Western Asian Studies, Classics, Medieval Studies, and Renaissance & Early Modern Studies. There are also other more specific guides to countries and regions: American history, Latin-American Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Africana Studies, South Asian Studies, East Asian Studies, Great Britain, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Portugal, modern Greece, and Eastern Europe.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMBO)
Current; IMBO is a comprehensive, current, international bibliography of more than 300,000 articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. IMBO covers publications in over 30 languages, and many disciplines including Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. To search, scroll down and click on the "Enter Databases" button. Select International Medieval Bibliography from the list.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
1859-present; Iter's Journals Database is an electronic bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Iter citations include articles; bibliographies; catalogues; abstracts; and discographies. An online version of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world is now included.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Subjects include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
English Short Title Catalog
The ESTC, English Short Title Catalog, is an in-process list of books published in all languages in Great Britain, and in English elsewhere, from 1475-1800. [This resource is publicly available.]
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) Digital Edition
Ongoing; based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, this resource serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
2004 edition; an illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.
Times (London) Digital Archive
1795-1985; researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
1984-present; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include: art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
Over 2,600 texts (mostly scholarly editions) ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The powerful search and retrieval engine, PhiloLogic3, enables scholars to perform textual analysis, and to limit and extend both the searches and search results from various points of view.
Florentine Renaissance Resources: Online Catasto of 1427
The Online Catasto is a World Wide Web searchable database of tax information for the city of Florence in 1427-29 (c. 10,000 records). It is based on the work of David Herlihy and Christiane Klapisch-Zuber, Principal Investigators, Census and Property Survey of Florentine Dominions in the Province of Tuscany, 1427-1480. [This resource is publicly available.]
Florentine Renaissance Resources: Online Tratte of Office Holders 1282-1532
This site gives access to a database (c. 165,000 records) with information about office holders of the Florentine Republic during its 250-year history. The database was developed initially by Professor David Herlihy at Harvard and Brown Universities, and then completed under the direction of Professors R. Burr Litchfield and Anthony Molho at Brown University. An edition of the Tre Maggiori, Guild elections and Birth registrations is now available. [This resource is publicly available.]
Bases de Datos del CSIC
Created by the Center for Scientific Information and Documentation (CINDOC) for the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) in Spain, the Bases de Datos del CSICcontains three databases that index Spanish journals and conference papers.
ISOC - 1975-present; contains seventeen subdatabases in the social sciences and humanities.
ICYT - 1979-present; contains ten subdatabases on science and technology.
IME - 1971-present; biomedicine.
Note: The search engine is not sensitive to accents and diacritics other than the tilde in the letter n. The letter n alone cannot act as a replacement. In such cases replace n with the truncation symbol *, or copy and paste this letter from a word processing program.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
1890-1982; contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. See Readers Guide Abstracts for 1982 to present.
1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Academic Search Premier
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; said to be the world's largest full-text, online database, containing more than a billion full-text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information. For help in getting started, see Introduction to LexisNexis Video Tutorial.
1944-present; provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.
Brown Theses and Dissertations
The Brown University Theses and Dissertations database includes over 15,000 records for dissertations written and submitted in fulfillment of Brown University degree requirements from 1893 to 2000. Included are undergraduate honors theses, master's theses, and doctoral dissertations. Records include the author's name, thesis title, degree awarded, year, granting department, and when available, thesis advisor. [This resource is publicly available.]
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
This collection is considered to be the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and 15 languages. The broad scope of Gerritsen Online allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. Gerritsen Online consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
1975-present; this database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or email@example.com.
Oxford English Dictionary
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). The OED is currently being revised, with the aim of producing a completely updated third edition by the year 2010. Draft material from the revision programme will also be published online, representing the latest progress towards the new edition. More revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter.
Current; the core collection of Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the Core Collection. Click here for a list of the publications included.
Project Gutenberg is the Internet's oldest producer of free electronic books. [This resource is publicly available.]
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links toJSTOR.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.
Books, journals, sound recordings, videos and manuscripts collected and catalogued by your library and libraries around the world. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.
Rockefeller Library, Room 432
Providence, RI 02912