This is the "Home" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/philosophy Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Specialist, Curator of Early Books

Profile Image
William S. Monroe
wmonroe@libraryh3lp.com/BULChat
 

Ask William Monroe

JavaScript is disabled. Chat requires JavaScript.
 

Individual Databases for Philosophy

Academic Search Premier    
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index     
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.

DigiZeitschriften    
DigiZeitschriften is a digital archive of back issues of 100+ German scholarly journals. The archive offers browsing capabilities, phrase and keyword searching of titles of articles, chapters, and tables of contents for journals in the fields of art history, economy, education, geology, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, natural sciences, religion and sociology. Years of coverage vary from journal to journal and are listed in the "Open Access" section of the site.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online    
Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Gallica 
Developed and maintained by the Biblioth�que nationale de France, Gallica is a vast and growing collection of digitized resources in French and other Western European languages. It currently offers over 100,000 digitized texts and 300,000 images. The emphasis of the site is on documents of historical or cultural value. Some sections of the site focus on literary collections such as Gallica classique, on specific themes such as Proust or utopia, or on a particular format such as periodicals. [This resource is publicly available.]

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography    
2004 edition; an illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

Oxford English Dictionary    
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). The OED is currently being revised, with the aim of producing a completely updated third edition by the year 2010. Draft material from the revision programme will also be published online, representing the latest progress towards the new edition. More revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter.

Oxford Reference    
Current; the core collection of Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the Core Collection. Click here for a list of the publications included.

Past Masters    
Searchable collection of classic texts in philosophy, literature, and the sciences. Collections include: 
Aristotle: Complete Works
British Philosophy: 1600-1900
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Plato: Collected Dialogues
Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill
Yeats: Collected Letters

Philosopher's Index    
1940-present; abstracts for books and journal articles on epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of various disciplines.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text    
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.

Religion and Philosophy Collection    
1975-present; Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers over 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy  
Current; from its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

WorldCat    
Books, journals, sound recordings, videos and manuscripts collected and catalogued by your library and libraries around the world. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

 

 

Databases Key

full text icon = Some full text
licensed icon = Licensed for Brown
audio icon = Audio Available
video icon = Video Available


Look for this button in search results to find full text -- find it


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip