This is the "Home" page of the "Development Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Development Studies  

Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/development Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

 

Department/Program Links

 

Off-Campus Access

To gain access to licensed resources:

For more information, see Off Campus Access Services.
 
If you're new to Brown, go to Getting Started to get information on your ID and establishing your account.

Infomation on Copyright

 

Welcome

Hi, as your subject libratian for Development Studies, I am very glad to help you find information and reserch tools relavent to your research.  Please contact me by email, chat online or phone call.  Thanks and have a good day.

 

Search Tips

The General Internet

  • Google Tips and Tricks: Google's guide to using their search engine effectively. Includes boolean searching, wild cards, and more.
  • Wikipedia Responsibly: Student Wikipedia Use Policy from the University of California Santa Barbara. Describes Wikipedia's strengths and weaknesses.  Discusses version history for citations.
  • Primary vs. Secondary Sources: A helpful guide from the University of California Santa Cruz, University Library.
  • Peer Review: An excellent overview of the process of peer review, its benefits, and its shortcomings.  Written by the Linux Information Project.

The Library Web

  • WorldCat Explained: About page for WorldCat, the premier federated library catalog.
  • Brown's NEW Library Search Tool: About page for the new unified search tool.  Learn how to query JOSIAH and subscription databases at the same time.
  • Google Scholar: Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar results now include links to Brown University Library resources. These links will appear automatically if you search from an on-campus computer or use the link above; otherwise, off-campus you must go to "Scholar Preferences" and search for "Brown". For further information see Google Scholar FAQ.
 

Electronic Resources

World Development Indicators  full text icon  
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

PAIS International  full text icon  
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.

International Political Science Abstracts  full text icon  
1989-present; abstracts information from major journals in political science, including public law, and international relations.

International Political Science Abstracts  full text icon  
1989-present; abstracts information from major journals in political science, including public law, and international relations.

EconLit  
1969-present; a comprehensive index to the worldwide literature on economics compiled by the American Economic Association from over 300 major economics journals.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Data Services  full text icon  
The EIU DataServices portfolio comprises the following global business databases: EIU Country Data, a comprehensive database of economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 320 economic series for 150 countries, as well as 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forecasting out five years; EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts, a powerful database of economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major countries, stretching back to 1990 and forward five years; EIU City Data, a global database of product prices and business costs providing over 330 prices levels on more than 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide from 1990 to the present, and Combination of Country Data and Market Indicators, which is a combination of EIU Country Data and EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts.

Academic Search Premier  full text icon  
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

AccessUN  full text icon  
1944-present; provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications.

Business Source Complete  full text icon  
Date varies; Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database. It contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Disciplines covered include business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Chicago Manual of Style Online  full text icon  
15th edition; contains updated material throughout to reflect current style, technology, and professional practice. Also includes new coverage of journals and electronic publications, comprehensive new chapter on American English grammar and usage, updated and rewritten chapter on preparing mathematical copy, reorganized and updated chapters on documentation, including guidance on citing electronic sources.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)  full text icon  
1991-present; designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online  full text icon
Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Environment Index  
Current; The Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus that will assist users in research.

Ethnic NewsWatch and ENW: A History  full text icon  
1980-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. ENW: A History covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

Ethnic NewsWatch and ENW: A History  full text icon  
1980-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. ENW: A History covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

Europa World Year Book  full text icon  
Current; Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book. One of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistics and international organizations.

Facts on File Databases  full text icon  
An online version of Facts on File, these databases include the World News Digest from 1940-present, as well as Issues and Controversies and links to special reports.

FRANCIS  
1984-present; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include: art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.

Gender Studies Database  full text icon  
1972-present; Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines the Women's Studies International database and Men's Studies databases to provide coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It includes links to freely available and indexed full text articles and documents on the Web. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.

Global Health  full text icon  
1973-present; Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and other subject areas. This database contains information from more than 3,500 serials, books, conference proceedings, and patents.

Global Health Library
The World Health Organization's portal to databases generated by its regional health offices for Africa, Southeast Asia, Eastern Mediterranean, Latin America and the Caribbean and the Western Pacific Regions. This is local information meant to supplement PubMed, etc. Also included is WHOLIS, the database of WHO publications from 1948 onwards and articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents from 1985 to the present.

Global Reference Center  full text icon  
Global Reference Center, from the publishers of the Encyclopaedia Britannica Online, consists of several foreign language resources. Titles include: Encyclopedia Universalis, a French-lanuage encyclopedia; Britannica Online Korea; Britannica Online Japan; Britannica Concise Encyclopedia in Chinese; and the Spanish Reference Center which includes the Enciclopedia Modernaand Escolar.

Google Book Search  full text icon
Includes digitized collections from participating libraries. The "About the book" section provides useful bibliographic and other information. When a book is out of copyright, it can be viewed or downloaded it in its entirety; other books are viewable in preview or small snippets only. [This resource is publicly available.]

Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI)  
1970-present; HAPI is an online source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Included are complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in over 400 key scholarly social science and humanities journals published worldwide.

Historical Abstracts  
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research  full text icon  
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.

This data is not remotely accessible using the Off-Campus Access (Proxy) service. You must install the Brown University VPN client.

Download VPN for Windows / Download VPN for MAC OS X
For assistance with the VPN client, contact the CIS Help Desk: help@brown.edu or 863-HELP.

International Who's Who  full text icon  
From heads of state, politicians, religious leaders and ambassadors, to the eminent and successful in business, finance, technology, film, music, fashion, sport, literature and the performing arts, The International Who\'s Who outlines the lives and achievements of more than 25,000 of the most distinguished men and women from almost every country in the world.

JSTOR  full text icon  
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

LexisNexis Academic  full text icon  
Current; said to be the world's largest full text, online database, containing more than a billion full text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information. For help in getting started, see Introduction to LexisNexis Video Tutorial.

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations)  
Current; monthly economic statistics for most the countries and areas of the world. In addition, each month a different selection of special tables is presented showing annual and/or quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic long-term trends and developments. {This resource is publicly available.]

National Newspapers Expanded  full text icon  
The ProQuest Newspapers Database contains the following newspapers:

Atlanta Journal-Constitution 11/7/2001-present
Atlanta Constitution 1990-11/2/2001
Boston Globe 1997-present
Boston Globe 1/1/1980-12/3/1996
Chicago Tribune 12/4/1996-present
Chicago Tribune 1/1/1985-12/3/1996
Christian Science Monitor 9/30/1988-present
Los Angeles Times 12/4/1996-present
Los Angeles Times 1/1/1985 to 12/3/1996
New York Times 6/1/1980-present
Providence Journal 12/25/1983-present
USA Today 4/1/1987-12/14/1997
Wall Street Journal 1/2/1984-present
Washington Post 1/1/1987-12/3/1996
Washington Post 12/4/1996-present

OECD Health Statistics  full text icon  
Current; OECD Health Data is a source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. It enables health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. Many time series going back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include: * Health Status * Health Care Resources * Health Care Utilisation * Expenditure on Health * Health Care Financing * Social Protection * Pharmaceutical Market * Non-medical Determinants of Health * Demographic References * Economic References

Polling the Nations  
1986-present; Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each of the records reports a question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview.

POPLINE
POPLINE 1974-present; but also includes older substantive literature. POPLINE has information on topics relating to population such as demography, vital statistics, family planning, and related health, law,and policy issues. POPLINE indexes books, book chapters, journal articles, technical reports, conference papers, theses, dissertations, laws, bills, court decisions, and unpublished reports. [This resource is publicly available.]

Population Reference Bureau Data Finder
contains data on 95 demographic variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, the world as a whole, the United States as a whole, and the U.S. states.

Project Muse  full text icon  
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text  full text icon  
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.

ScienceDirect  full text icon  
Current; source for scientific, technical and medical research that provides access to 2,000 journals across 16 fields of science, including the social sciences. ScienceDirect Quick Reference Guide

Social Sciences Citation Index  
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.

Social Sciences Citation Index  
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.

SocINDEX with Full Text  full text icon  
1895-present; SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. This product contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Includes extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

SocINDEX with Full Text  full text icon  
1895-present; SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. This product contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Includes extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

Web Of Science  
1900-present; The Web of Science includes the three ISI citation indexes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Science Citation Index.

WorldCat  
Books, journals, sound recordings, videos and manuscripts collected and catalogued by your library and libraries around the world. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Dr. Li Wang
Contact Info
Curator
East Asian Collection
Box A
Brown University Library
Providence, RI 02912
Tel: (401) 863-3839
Send Email

Requesting Articles

How to request articles not available online at Brown.

  • ILLiad
    ILLiad is Brown's InterLibrary Loan system, and can be used to request items not held at Brown. Faculty and medical students may also use ILLiad to request electronic delivery of journal articles held only in print.
 

A Key for Resource Icons

KEY

full text icon = Some full text
licensed icon = Licensed for Brown
audio icon = Audio Available
video icon = Video Available
mobile icon = Mobile Access Available

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip