LibGuides: Development Studies: Home

Welcome

Hi, as your subject librarian for Development Studies, I am very glad to help you find information and research tools relevant to your research. Please contact me by email, chat online or phone call. Thanks and have a great day.

Department/ Program Links

Brown-Specific Internet Resources

BruKnow (Library search)
BruKnow is the Library's platform for searching books, ebooks, databases, articles, multimedia, and special collections.
Resource Guides
Find books, data, articles, multimedia, and more. Guides are created by expert librarians to assist you with getting started with research, navigating research databases, and connecting you with the information you need at any point in the research lifecycle.
Borrowing Options
Course Reserves
New Titles Cataloged
Copyright & Fair Use
Research Tools & Tutorials
LibX, Browser Extension
Citation Linker
MyCourses
Canvas
Courses

Citation Management

Information on Copyright

Search Tips

The General Internet

Google Tips and Tricks: Google's guide to using their search engine effectively. Includes boolean searching, wild cards, and more.
Wikipedia Responsibly: Student Wikipedia Use Policy from the University of California Santa Barbara. Describes Wikipedia's strengths and weaknesses. Discusses version history for citations.
Primary vs. Secondary Sources: A helpful guide from the University of California Santa Cruz, University Library.
Peer Review: An excellent overview of the process of peer review, its benefits, and its shortcomings. Written by the Linux Information Project.

The Library Web

WorldCat Explained: About page for WorldCat, the premier federated library catalog.
Brown's NEW Library Search Tool: About page for the new unified search tool. Learn how to query BruKnow and subscription databases at the same time.
Google Scholar: Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar results now include links to Brown University Library resources. These links will appear automatically if you search from an on-campus computer or use the link above; otherwise, off-campus you must go to "Scholar Preferences" and search for "Brown". For further information see Google Scholar FAQ.

Electronic Resources

World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National, regional, and global socio-economic data and time series from the World Bank, current
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, 1914-present.
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover articles in political science, including public law, and international relations, 1989-present.
1989-present; abstracts information from major journals in political science, including public law, and international relations.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literature on economics compiled by the American Economic Association from more than 300 major economics journals, 1969-present
1969-present; a comprehensive index to the worldwide literature on economics compiled by the American Economic Association from over 300 major economics journals.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Data Services
The EIU DataServices portfolio comprises the following global business databases: EIU Country Data, a comprehensive database of economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 320 economic series for 150 countries, as well as 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forecasting out five years; EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts, a powerful database of economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major countries, stretching back to 1990 and forward five years; EIU City Data, a global database of product prices and business costs providing over 330 prices levels on more than 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide from 1990 to the present, and Combination of Country Data and Market Indicators, which is a combination of EIU Country Data and EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to nearly 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

AccessUN
1944-present; provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles, reports, and news covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics, 1886-present.
1886-present; Business Source Complete is a database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
15th edition; contains updated material throughout to reflect current style, technology, and professional practice. Also includes new coverage of journals and electronic publications, comprehensive new chapter on American English grammar and usage, updated and rewritten chapter on preparing mathematical copy, reorganized and updated chapters on documentation, including guidance on citing electronic sources.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Locate working papers, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos relevant for research in international politics and related fields, 1991-present.
1991-present; designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 30 databases with citations, abstracts, and selected full text; includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and other subject-specific resources.
EBSCOhost is the interface for databases the Library subscribes to from EBSCO Publishing. There are several, including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and others. This link will take you a list of the databases. For help getting started see EBSCO Tutorials.

Encyclopedia Brittanica Online
Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research on environmental studies and related disciplines, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, public policy, and environmental law, 1888-present.
Current; The Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus that will assist users in research.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.
EuropaWorld Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed country surveys containing analytical, statistical and directory data available for over 250 countries and territories.
Current; Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs.

First published in 1926, the yearbook is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
Provides access to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences, 1972-2015.
1972-2015; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for books, articles, and other publication in gender-related scholarship, 1972-present.
1972-present; Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines the Women's Studies International database and Men's Studies databases to provide coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It includes links to freely available and indexed full text articles and documents on the Web. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and other subject areas, 1973-present

Global Health Library
The World Health Organization's portal to databases generated by its regional health offices for Africa, Southeast Asia, Eastern Mediterranean, Latin America and the Caribbean and the Western Pacific Regions. This is local information meant to supplement PubMed, etc. Also included is WHOLIS, the database of WHO publications from 1948 onwards and articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents from 1985 to the present.
Google Book Search
Includes digitized collections from participating libraries. The "About the book" section provides useful bibliographic and other information. When a book is out of copyright, it can be viewed or downloaded it in its entirety; other books are viewable in preview or small snippets only. [This resource is publicly available.]

Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other research materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, 1967-present.
1970-present; HAPI is an online source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Included are complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in over 400 key scholarly social science and humanities journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to articles, books and dissertations on world history about the 15th century to the-present.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 250,000 datasets in the social and behavioral sciences. The database hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.
This database DOES NOT work with EZProxy. Please download the SSL-VPN client to your computer from software.brown.edu to access this resource from off-campus.

International Who's Who
From heads of state, politicians, religious leaders and ambassadors, to the eminent and successful in business, finance, technology, film, music, fashion, sport, literature and the performing arts, The International Who\'s Who outlines the lives and achievements of more than 25,000 of the most distinguished men and women from almost every country in the world.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations) This link opens in a new window
Presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world, current.
Current; monthly economic statistics for most the countries and areas of the world. In addition, each month a different selection of special tables is-presented showing annual and/or quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic long-term trends and developments. {This resource is publicly available.]
National Newspapers Expanded
- This link opens in a new window
Please see US Major Dailies
OECD Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source of comparable statistics on the health and health care systems of the OECD economies, includes data found in the publication Health at a Glance, discontinued 8/2023.
Current; OECD Health Data is a source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. It enables health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. Many time series going back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include:
* Health Status * Health Care Resources * Health Care Utilisation * Expenditure on Health * Health Care Financing * Social Protection * Pharmaceutical Market * Non-medical Determinants of Health * Demographic References * Economic References
OECD Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source of comparable statistics on the health and health care systems of the OECD economies, includes data found in the publication Health at a Glance, discontinued 8/2023.
Current; OECD Health Data is a source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. It enables health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. Many time series going back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include:
* Health Status * Health Care Resources * Health Care Utilisation * Expenditure on Health * Health Care Financing * Social Protection * Pharmaceutical Market * Non-medical Determinants of Health * Demographic References * Economic References
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A compilation of surveys and original poll questions from the United States and more than 80 other countries, 1986-present.
1986-present; Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each of the records reports a question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview.

Population Reference Bureau Finder
contains data on 95 demographic variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, the world as a whole, the United States as a whole, and the U.S. states.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A global collection of dissertations and theses, 1637-present.
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Global includes more than 2.5 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 (with a few older) to the-present day together with over one million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Global provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to scientific, technical, and medical research, current.
Current; source for scientific, technical and medical research that provides access to 2,000 journals across 16 fields of science, including the social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles and other publications for all major social science disciplines, 1900-present.
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 2,989 active indexed and abstracted journals and 2,860 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals, 1895-present.
1895-present; SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. This product contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Includes extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

Web of Knowledge
Coverage years vary; Web of Knowledge is a portal to a group of databases to which the Library subscribes. At the Web of Knowledge site, you will find links to Biological Abstracts, Journal Citation Reports, and Web of Science, which includes the Social Science Citation Index, the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and the Science Citation Index Expanded. Also included is a link to Medline, through the Web of Knowledge interface. For help getting started see Web of Knowledge Tutorials.

Web Of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scientific, social science, and humanities research; along with forward and backward citation searching capabilities, 1900-present
WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of books and other materials in library catalogs around the world. Best used for advanced search of book records.

Requesting Articles

ILLiad
ILLiad is Brown's InterLibrary Loan system, and can be used to request items not held at Brown. Faculty and medical students may also use ILLiad to request electronic delivery of journal articles held only in print.

How to request articles not available online at Brown.