Start your search with BruKnow, the Library search engine, to find books/ebooks, articles, films we own, Brown theses and dissertations, digital projects and much more.
Access to the bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations from the Modern Language Association, 1926-present.
1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
1956-2011. Klapp Bibliographie d'histoire littéraire française is considered the most comprehensive bibliography and index of scholarly publications on French literary studies. It indexes journal articles and book chapters, covering general works, with works arranged by century and themes. It complements the MLA International Bibliography and is particularly strong in European publications.
1956-2011; updated annually. Klapp, Bibliographie der franzsischen Literaturwissenschaft = Bibliographie d'histoire littraire franaise is considered the most comprehensive bibliography and index of scholarly publications on French literary studies. Klapp-Online, the online edition, is an extensive index of journal articles and book chapters, covering general works, with works arranged by century and themes. It complements the MLA International Bibliography and is particularly strong in European publications. Print volumes are available for 1956-2011.
Access more than 2,600 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to non-fiction prose and technical writing.
Over 2,600 texts (mostly scholarly editions) ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The powerful search and retrieval engine, PhiloLogic3, enables scholars to perform textual analysis, and to limit and extend both the searches and search results from various points of view.
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors, current.
Current; provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. The LRC covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, and indexes publications such as Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Authors.
Discover international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences, 1973-present.
1973-present; LLBA covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Provides full-text access to more than 11,000 documents covering the entire French-speaking Sub-Saharan Africa, 1700s-1960s
1700s-1960s. Collection of over 11,000 full texts covering the entire French speaking Sub-Saharan Africa (about twenty countries and more than a hundred ethnic groups). Includes oral and written literature from the origin of each country to Independence and contains novels, short stories, theater, poetry, fables, proverbs, songs, and more. Bilingual versions are available for every French text that has a counterpart in an African language. Searchable by author, title, genre, country, ethnicity, and keyword.
Open access site dedicated to Jean Cocteau. Provides access to books, photographs and other materials pertaining to the author. Developed and maintained by the Université Paul-Valéry Montpellier-III.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Provides access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Provides access to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences, 1972-2015.
1972-2015; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.
Provides access to recent issues of French and Belgian academic journals in the humanities and social sciences available online, 2005-present
2005-present; created by four French-language academic publishers (Belin, De Boeck, La Decouverte and Eres) and in collaboration with the National Library of France and the French National Book Center, CAIRN offers the most comprehensive collection of recent issues of French and Belgian academic journals in the humanities and social sciences available online. Selected full text available. :Revues de sciences humaines et sociales de quatre maisons d'dition (Belin, De Boeck, La Dcouverte et Ers) en version lectronique accompagnes d'outils techniques. [This resource is publicly available.]
Provides access to news and current events in English, French, Spanish, and other languages, current.
Current; Eureka is a database of news and current events that contains more than 115-million articles from over 2,500 daily newspapers, journals, magazines, news wires, tv transcripts and others covering more than 20 years. Sources from every state in the USA, from every province in Canada and from all over the world bring you the latest news in English, French, Spanish and other languages.
The most detailed and thorough bibliographic source with excellent author and thematic indexes. For the most recent additions, see the online version Klapp-Online.
