Ask a Librarian
Infomation on Copyright
Hi, as your subject libratian for Korean Studies, I am very glad to help you find information and research tools relevant to your research. Please contact me by email, chat online or phone call. Thanks and have a good day.
The General Internet
- Google Tips and Tricks: Google's guide to using their search engine effectively. Includes boolean searching, wild cards, and more.
- Wikipedia Responsibly: Student Wikipedia Use Policy from the University of California Santa Barbara. Describes Wikipedia's strengths and weaknesses. Discusses version history for citations.
- Primary vs. Secondary Sources: A helpful guide from the University of California Santa Cruz, University Library.
- Peer Review: An excellent overview of the process of peer review, its benefits, and its shortcomings. Written by the Linux Information Project.
The Library Web
- WorldCat Explained: About page for WorldCat, the premier federated library catalog.
- Brown's NEW Library Search Tool: About page for the new unified search tool. Learn how to query JOSIAH and subscription databases at the same time.
- Google Scholar: Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar results now include links to Brown University Library resources. These links will appear automatically if you search from an on-campus computer or use the link above; otherwise, off-campus you must go to "Scholar Preferences" and search for "Brown". For further information see Google Scholar FAQ.
Databases and Internet Resources
Databases Accessible from Library’s Website
Academic Search Premier
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.
Asian Film Online
Asian Film Online is an online streaming video collection of nearly 600 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. With Asian voices addressing Asian issues, and through works selected by Asian film experts, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights. Its themes - such as modernity, globalization, national identity, female agency, inequalities in opportunity amid social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity - are central to any meaningful discussion of Asian culture.
any meaningful discussion of Asian culture.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
1971-present; this online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 610,000 records of materials in all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Brown Theses and Dissertations
The Brown University Theses and Dissertations database includes over 15,000 records for dissertations written and submitted in fulfillment of Brown University degree requirements from 1893 to 2000. Included are undergraduate honors theses, master's theses, and doctoral dissertations. Records include the author's name, thesis title, degree awarded, year, granting department, and when available, thesis advisor. [This resource is publicly available.]
Chosŏn ilbo (Seoul, Korea) 朝鲜日報
|from 1920 to present in 조선일보 아카이브 (Chosun Ilbo Archive)|
|from 05/18/1998 to present in Access World News Research Collection|
Data Portal 공공데이터포털 (formerly “Korea Knowledge Portal”)
The official gateway to South Korean government documents operated by the Korea Agency for Digital Opportunity and Promotion (한국정보문화진흥원). This full-text database links national institutes and is searchable by keyword, author, publisher, subject, format, language, and date. The participating organizations include: the National History Compilation Committee (국사편찬위원회), the Korea Education and Research Information Service (한국교육학술정보원), the Korea Culture Information Service (한국문화정보센터), the Korea Institute and Technology Information (정보통신연구진흥원), the Korea Institute of Construction Technology (한국건설기술연구원), the Korea Institute for Industrial Economics and Trade (산업연구원), the Ministry of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (해양수산부), the Ministry of Government Legislation (법제처) and the National Digital Library (국가전자도서관). Access to full text documents by users outside Korea requires registration and is open only to Korean citizens.
ebrary Academic Complete subscription collection offers access for over 80,000 titles from leading academic and professional publishers. Concentrations include business and economics, computers and technology, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
For help in getting started, see ebrary Video Tutorial.
Google Book Search
Includes digitized collections from participating libraries. The "About the book" section provides useful bibliographic and other information. When a book is out of copyright, it can be viewed or downloaded it in its entirety; other books are viewable in preview or small snippets only. [This resource is publicly available.]
Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar results now include links to Brown University Library resources. These links will appear automatically if you search from an on-campus computer or use the link above; otherwise, off-campus you must go to "Scholar Preferences" and search for "Brown". For further information see Google Scholar FAQ.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Korean History: A Bibliography by Ken Robinson
Updating of and a supplement to the annotated bibliography: Studies on Korea, a Scholar's Guide, which was published in 1980 (see “I. General Bibliographies”)
Korean Database 디지탈 한국학 (In KOREAN)
This encyclopedic online database was originally developed by the Academy of Korean Studies and holds much information about Korean art, culture, folklore, history, literature, philosophy, and religion. Search by keyword and browse by subject.
Korean Legal Research at the University of Washington 한국법학연구지침
Resources for Korea-related legal studies, both online and print.
Korea Integrated News Database System (KINDS)
The most comprehensive full-text archive (1990-current) for Korean news, operated by the Korea Press Foundation. Contents include major, local, internet, and industry newspapers, magazines, and TV reports since 1990. These are fully searchable and available in full-text online. Four major daily newspapers, Kyŏnghyang sinmun (京鄉新聞), Tonga ilbo (東亞日報), Sŏul sinmun (서울신문), and Han’guk ilbo (한국일보) (1960 to 1989) are provided in pdf format, as are two newspapers dating from the period of Japanese rule, Tongnip sinmun (獨立新聞 독립신문) and Taehan maeil sinbo (大韓每日新報 대한매일신보).
National Digital Library 국가전자도서관
An online catalog bringing together the collections of the National Central Library of Korea (국립중앙도서관), National Assembly Library (국회도서관), and other major libraries in Korea. Limited functionality outside Korea.
National Institute of Korean History -- Newspapers 국사편찬위원회 (IN KOREAN)
NIHK provides image reproductions of 11 historical Korean newspapers including Tonga ilbo (東亞日報) (1920-1962) and Chungang ilbo (中央日報) (1931-1933). Browseable by dates and searchable by keywords.
Naver Digital News Archive 네이버 디지털뉴스아카이브 (In KOREAN)
This archive provides access to PDF files of four Korean newspapers, including Kyŏnghyang sinmun (京鄉新聞) (1946-1999), Tonga ilbo (東亞日報) (1920-1999), Maeil kyŏngje sinmun (每日經濟新聞) (1966-1999), and Hankyure (한겨레) (1988-1999). Browseable by dates and searchable by keywords.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text
1637-present; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150 word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
1890-1982; contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. See Readers Guide Abstracts for 1982 to present.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
1975-present; Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers over 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.
RISS (KERIS) 한술연구정보서비스
The union catalog of academic libraries in South Korea, China and Japan provided by the Korea Education & Research Information Service (한국교육학술정보원). Books, monographs, theses, dissertations, and articles from Korean academic journals are searchable by title, author, publisher, and date. Some of the materials are available in full-text online along with abstracts.
Social Sciences Citation Index
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.
Statistics Korea 통계청
Access to KOSIS (Korean Statistical Information System) maintained by the National Statistical Office, the centralized government statistical organization to offer major domestic statistical information on population, social indicators, trade and industry, and more.
For more Korea-related statistics, see the list at:
SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present; SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. This product contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Includes extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
Books, journals, sound recordings, videos and manuscripts collected and catalogued by your library and libraries around the world. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.