AFRI1110 Voices Beneath the Veil, African American Drama from 1858 to Present
A study of African-American history, life and cultures through the analyses of a sampling of plays from 1858-the Present written by Black authors. The pedagogical approach is to develop your critical thought process
Provides a discography of Dunbar's work as a lyricist for musicals and operas, with links for sheet music, along with other information on Dunbar's life and work.
Contains 1,462 plays by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries, 1850-present
1850-present; Black Drama, Second Edition contains approximately 1,462 plays from the mid-1800s to the-present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
10 plays deposited as unpublished typescripts in the United States Copyright Office between 1925 and 1944; most remained unpublished and unproduced until rediscovered in 1997
A search platform focusing on African American material digitized by a growing body of libraries, archives and museums. Participants include groundbreaking theatre companies.
Archival periodicals documenting the history of African American religious life and culture, 1829-1922
1829-1922; the African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations including churches and social service agencies.
A searchable database of materials digitized by NYPL. See results from a search for "African American theatre" focusing on African Americans in the performing arts.
