LibGuides: CHEM0350 Organic Chemistry Lab: Finding Chemical Information

Required Sources for CHEM 0350

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current edition of the print Handbook plus tables from older editions. Some tables are interactive and can be downloaded. Search by keyword in the text or substance/property search (by name, formula, CAS Registry No., molecular weight, and/or subject); back-of-the-book index is not interactive.
** If you receive a login prompt with the message "not within the network of a subscribing institution" after clicking "Details" next to the chemical name, you will need to clear your browser cache. To clear your cache, hit ctrl/cmd+shift+del in your browser, or see further instructions here.
This resource is only available on Brown's network. If you are working off-campus, you will need to log into Brown's VPN.
Current edition of the print Handbook plus tables from older editions. Some tables are interactive and can be downloaded. Search by keyword in the text or substance/property search (by name, formula, CAS Registry No., molecular weight, and/or subject); back-of-the-book index is not interactive.
Knovel Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to books, conference proceedings, and databases of major science and engineering publishers, current.
Current; Knovel aggregates the content (books and databases) of major science and engineering publishers. The resource is searched like a database for book titles, topics, and, more importantly, specific data within interactive tables and graphs.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals with more than 11,500 monographs on single substances or groups of related compounds.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research tool for organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry experimental substance property data and single and multistep reaction data, 1779-present
1779-present; web-based discovery tool for organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry experimental substance property data (including physical, spectral, pharmacological, toxicological, and ecological) and single and multistep reaction data. Combines the content of the former CrossFire databases including Beilstein and Gmelin. Reaction and substance data are experimentally validated (not calculated) from selected journals and patent literature. Reaxys integrates reaction and substance data with structure search, synthesis planning, analysis tools, and output formats.

Each user must REGISTER to use Reaxys. Users must have a Brown IP (Ethernet or VPN) and submit a BROWN.EDU EMAIL ADDRESS when registering.

Tips for Finding Chemical Information

Nomenclature, the names of organic compounds, is the least desirable way to search for chemical and physical properties because naming is not standardized. Therefore, the following approach is recommended when searching for chemical information:

Structure search: Most effective method of searching. Not an option in all resources.
*Please note: some structure editors accept condensed structures, whereas others require you to draw out the substituents. If you cannot get the structure editor to accept a condensed structure, try drawing out the Lewis structure.
Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number (CAS RN): Unique identification number assigned by the Chemical Abstracts Service of the American Chemical Society to each chemical substance. Highly accurate way of finding data about a substance; however, never 100%, especially when used in databases not produced by the CAS. Example: 64-19-7.
Molecular formula: Effective method, but may return a long list of results. Example: CH3COOH.

Print Resources

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Newer editions on reserve at the Sciences Library's Friedman service desk on level A. Old editions located on level 8 in the Sciences Library: QD65.C4.
The Merck Index
14th Edition on reserve at the Sciences Library's Friedman service desk on level A. Older editions can be requested from offsite storage.