LibGuides: Clinical resources: Best bets and top resources

If you only have a few minutes to look for information, here are some places to get started

<5 Minutes:

DynaMed: clinical summaries

Isabel: DDx/decision support tool (integrates with DynaMed)

Cochrane: systematic reviews

Clinical Pharmacology: drug info

Guideline Central: clinical practice guidelines

Red Book Online: (Pediatric Infections Disease)

5 - 30 Minutes:

PubMed Clinical Queries: filtered searches by study type

TRIP: metasearch, finding guidelines, systematic reviews, and study-type filters

ClinicalKey:1000+ medical textbooks (Ferri's, Cecil & Goldman, more)

AccessMedicine:40+ medical textbooks (Harrison's, Diagnosaurus, more)

30 - 60 Minutes:

PubMed

Google Scholar

Web of Science: cited references

C ore Health Sciences Resources
Complete listing of health sciences resources from the Brown Library

UpToDate is available only to medical students at The Warren Alpert Medical School.
Residents and clinical faculty whose hospitals subscribe to UpToDate will be able to access it via their hospital intranet.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive clinical decision support tool used by professionals around the world to diagnose and treat specific health issues at the point of care. Access is limited to medical students at The Warren Alpert Medical School.

Article Databases
See the Brown Library A-Z Database list for databases covering areas such as sociology, urban studies, gender studies, and more.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly literature on nursing, alternative medicine, consumer health, and other allied health subject areas, 1981-present
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Provides access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials; and Cochrane Clinical Answers, which are readable, digestible, clinically focused entry points to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews.
- This link opens in a new window
Embase This link opens in a new window Provides access to biomedical research, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research, 1947-present.
- This link opens in a new window
Global Health This link opens in a new window Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and other subject areas, 1973-present
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the largest biomedical database in the world. The Ovid interface offers more advanced searching functionality than PubMed, and is often used in comprehensive literature review projects.
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and citations of behavioral and social science research from the American Psychological Association (APA), 1887-present
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts who are recognized leaders in their fields. Use it to find authoritative research, identify experts, and access reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools for a variety of disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
Web Of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to scientific, social science, and humanities research; along with forward and backward citation searching capabilities, 1900-present
- This link opens in a new window

Point of Care and Textbooks

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of core basic and clinical medical texts, plus clerkship study guides, Case Files, a differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), procedural videos, an image gallery, and other multimedia content.
- This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window Offers the Case Filescontent in an interactive format. Updated regularly, the files help students apply basic clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
- This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Provides >1000 medical and public health books and textbooks, in addition to clinical topic summaries, clinical calculators, procedures videos and other multimedia resources, and drug references.
- This link opens in a new window
DynaMed This link opens in a new window Find point-of-care, evidence-based clinical topic summaries, current.
- This link opens in a new window
Isabel This link opens in a new window A peer-reviewed and validated differential diagnosis and decision support tool for physicians
- This link opens in a new window
Red Book Online This link opens in a new window Provides access to pediatric infectious disease and immunization information from the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Infectious Disease
Pediatric Surgery NaT This link opens in a new window Provides access to strategies, techniques and procedures, containing learning objectives, images, videos and links to CME and the medical literature, current.
- This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window Current; provides access to the DSM, psychiatric resources including journals, textbooks, self-assessment tools for study, board certification, and clinical and research news.
- This link opens in a new window

Drug resources

Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Micromedex Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Clinical resources

Health Sciences Librarian for Clinical Support

Health Sciences Librarian for Medical Education

Need help?

News @ the Library