LibGuides: Introduction to the Brown University Library: Journal Articles

Finding Articles in Databases

Databases are specialized collections of citations and full-text links to articles in specific subject areas. Using a database can help you limit your search more easily to a specific subject and will also give you citations to works that we don't have in the Brown Library, which you can then request from Interlibrary Loan by using the Findit! link.

You may wish to start your search in:

BruKnow This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BruKnow is the Library's platform for searching books, ebooks, databases, articles, multimedia, digital collections, and special collections, current

After checking BruKnow, you may wish to continue your search in one or more subject specific databases. You can find the best databases for your subject by looking at a subject guide.

Some of our databases will lead you to scholarly articles about a subject while others will allow you to directly access original (primary source) material such as literature and historical documents.

All Library Subject Guides
You may find any number of other subject guides to be of use, depending upon your areas of interest and courses that you are taking.
Library Databases A-Z List
This is an alphabetical list of all the library's databases. You can also search the database titles by keyword.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature. Connect Brown University in Google settings to access full text, current.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Google Scholar includes much of Brown's library materials as well. Look for the "FindIt@Brown" button.

For more detailed information about finding articles, see the following guide:

Tutorial: Finding Articles
A detailed tutorial on finding journal articles for your research.