LibGuides: Program in Innovation Management and Entrepreneurship (PRIME): Patents

Full Text Patent Databases

PatentScout This link opens in a new window
A private search tool that helps you discover relevant patents, organizations and technologies
Find highly relevant patents quickly and accurately. PatentScout is an easy to use and private search tool that helps you discover relevant patents, organizations and technologies using semantic search or advanced keyword syntax. University-wide access to this resource is provided by the office of Industry Engagement and Commercial Venturing and requires email registration.

USPTO Patent Full-text Database
Search full-text separately for published patents (1976-present) or for patent applications (March 15, 2001-present); search patents 1790-1975 only by issue date, patent number, or Current U.S. Classification. Keyword searching less effective than classification searching. [This resource is publicly available.]
Google Patents Advanced Search
Advanced search page where you can specify patent number; applicant; title or abstract; US, international, or cooperative classification codes; dates; and many other fields.

Espacenet: Europe's Network of Patent Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide patent documents and information, 1836-present. Coverage varies by country.
1836-present; Espacenet offers free access to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments. [This resource is publicly available.]
PATENTSCOPE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) patents, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices; coverage varies.
Coverage varies; World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)PATENTSCOPE database is for searching international patent applications(WO)and national collections primarily for selected countries in Asia, South America, Africa, and the Middle East. Graphing tools, linguistic search, browsing capability, sequence tracking are among the value-added features. [This resource is publicly available.]

The Lens
This resource brings together patent and scholarly works into a single searchable platform. The Lens includes a specialized search and analyze function for biological sequences disclosed in patent literature

USPTO Patent Search Tutorials
European Patent Organization (EPO) Search Tutorials
Patents and Designs Research Guide
Michael White is the patent librarian at Queen's University Ontario Canada; his website for users of the Engineering and Science Library is full of helpful information.

Cooperative Patent Classification - in force January 1, 2013; jointly developed by EPO and the USPTO

International Patent Classification (IPC)

Orange Book Data Files
The Orange Book contains information about patent exclusivity. You can search by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant, or application number.