LibGuides: Palestinian Studies: Databases and Reference Works

Databases with Palestine Content

Palestine Statehood Committee Records, 1939-1949 This link opens in a new window
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, publications, advertisements, and clippings related to five committees active in the United States from 1939 to 1949: the American Friends of a Jewish Palestine, the Committee for an Army of Stateless and Palestinian Jews, the Emergency Committee to Save the Jewish People of Europe, the American League for a Free Palestine, and the Hebrew Committee of National Liberation.

The Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970
1917-1970; this database offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-71. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states.

Land Legislation in Mandate Palestine This link opens in a new window
The set consists of the texts of the major pieces of legislation that governed the rural land regime in Palestine between the years 1918 and 1948, as well as the key reports and memoranda produced by British officials during that period.
Palestine and Israel: Records of the US Department of State, 1945-1959 This link opens in a new window
The documents in this collection on Palestine and Israel are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Reports of the Anglo-American Committee of Inquiry Palestine, 1944-1946 This link opens in a new window
The Anglo-American Committee of Inquiry (AACI), formed in 1945, was created to study the situation of Jewish survivors in Europe and the problems connected with their resettlement in Palestine.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, 1906-present.
1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.
U.S. intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009 This link opens in a new window
A primary source collection documenting spying and analytic efforts by the U.S. intelligence community in the Arab world, 1945-2009.
1945-2009; since 1945, the U.S. intelligence community has had to cover a half-dozen major wars and several dozen smaller but equally bloody armed conflicts in the Middle East, as well as innumerable civil wars, border clashes, armed insurgencies, and terrorist attacks. This comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence communitys spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the-present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Irans nuclear program.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Locate working papers, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos relevant for research in international politics and related fields, 1991-present.
1991-present; designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.
Mideastwire.com This link opens in a new window
News service established in Beirut, Lebanon that offers a daily email newsletter of translated briefs covering important stories from and about the Middle East, current.
Current; Mideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Presents current scholarship on the Islamic world, third edition.
Currently in 3rd edition for some articles. All previous editions are also available through the Brill online link.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, 1914-present.
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.

Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources (AMIR)
This project began as a consequence of a series of conversations in 2010 between Charles Jones and Peter Magierski at NYU about the need for a tool to assemble and distribute information on open access material relating to the Middle East.

Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944 This link opens in a new window
This collection covers U.S. perspectives on Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, and Trans-Jordan, from Ottoman rule to the era of British and French mandates following the First World War.

Reference Works and Bibliographies

Encyclopedia of the Palestinians
Publication Date: 2005
Entries cover recent developments and personalities as well as the history of the Palestinian people. Includes photographs and maps.
The Cambridge History of Turkey
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic world
Christian-Muslim Relations. A Bibliographical History
Guide to Islamist Movements
Palestine Boundaries
4 Vol archive with boxed maps 1833-1947
Britain and Palestine, 1914-1948 : archival sources for the history of the British mandate
This book constitutes the findings of the project sponsored by the British Academy which set up the Anglo-Palestinian Archives Committee
Palestine and Transjordan administration reports, 1918-1948
16 Vol British Colonial Admin records
Palestine and the Arab-Israeli conflict, 2013
Smith, Charles D., Palestine and the Arab-Israeli Conflict. 8th ed. Boston, MA: Bedford/St. Martins, 2013.