This guide offers a set of resources available to Brown users covering the region of South Asia (India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Burma, Bangladesh, Bhutan and parts of Central Asia).
ANSAB is committed to biodiversity conservation and livelihood improvement in South Asia. It places community empowerment and economic incentives at the heart of its approach, and has been consistently evolving, consolidating, institutionalizing and advancing the approaches and strategies for the promotion of community-based enterprises and value chains, natural resources management and biodiversity conservation, enabling policy environment and multi-stakeholders collaboration.
A resource for locating books, articles, and georeferenced records, 2004-present.
2004-present; a comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and interoperable with GeoRef.
The Digital Himalaya project was designed by Alan Macfarlane and Mark Turin as a strategy for archiving and making available ethnographic materials from the Himalayan region. Based at the Department of Social Anthropology at the University of Cambridge, the project was established in December 2000. From 2002 to 2005, the project moved to the Department of Anthropology at Cornell University and began its collaboration with the University of Virginia. From July 2014, the project has relocated to the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada, and is engaged in a long term collaboration with Sichuan University.
The Mountains of Central Asia Digital Dataset (MCADD) consists of a collection of books, journals and maps related broadly to the Himalayas and its outlying attached ranges including the Hindu Kush, the Karakorams, the Pamirs, the Tian Shan and the Kuen Lun as well as the Tibetan highlands and the Tarim basin.
Provides access to research on environmental studies and related disciplines, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, public policy, and environmental law, 1888-present.
Current; The Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus that will assist users in research.
The Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
Earth Sciences Pakistan (ESP) focus on interactions between the solid Earth, its water, its air and its living organisms, and on dynamic, interdependent relationships between these four components. ESP also consider how these relationships produce environmental change at different timescales. To do this, they combine knowledge, models and methods drawn from geology, biology, physics and chemistry. ESP also strive to understand past and present environmental processes so that reliable and scientifically based predictions can be made about the future. The journal is highly inter-disciplinary and publishes scholarly research – new data, ideas, and conceptual advances – in Earth and Environmental Science.
Life and Environmental Sciences is the official flagship, the peer-reviewed quarterly journal of the Pakistan Academy of Sciences. This open-access journal publishes original research articles and reviews in the field of Agricultural and Biological Sciences (all), Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology (all), Environmental Science (all), Health Sciences (all) in English. Authors are not required to be Fellows or Members of the Pakistan Academy of Sciences or citizens of Pakistan.
This link opens in a new window
